Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
WatchRanker
Search
For vendors
automatic watches

Seiko Prospex SLA079 vs. Oris Aquis Date Calibre 400: Key Differences

Both are 300 m-rated automatic divers, but the cited Oris has a 120-hour reserve versus about 50 hours for the Seiko. Compare their published dimensions and ownership terms.

By WatchRanker Team 3 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Both the Seiko Prospex SLA079 and the Oris Aquis Date Calibre 400 are automatic dive watches rated by their makers for 300 metres of water resistance. The clearest specification difference is power reserve: Seiko lists about 50 hours for the SLA079, while Oris lists 120 hours for the cited 43.50 mm Aquis configuration. The Seiko’s published case dimensions are also more complete, making it possible to assess its diameter, thickness and lug-to-lug length—but not to make a full fit comparison with the Oris from the cited specifications.

At a glance

Specification Seiko Prospex SLA079 Oris Aquis Date Calibre 400
Movement Automatic with manual winding, calibre 8L35 Automatic, Calibre 400
Published power reserve Approximately 50 hours 120 hours
Case diameter 42.6 mm 43.50 mm
Thickness and lug-to-lug 13.4 mm thick; 49.3 mm lug-to-lug Not stated on the cited product page
Water-resistance rating 300 m / 1000 ft, described by Seiko as diver’s 30 bar
Other cited movement or ownership details Manufacturer-stated precision of +15 to -10 seconds per day; 4,800 A/m magnetic resistance Oris describes everyday anti-magnetism, recommends a ten-year service interval and offers a warranty extension to ten years after MyOris registration

These are manufacturer specifications and policy statements, not results from comparative testing. The Oris column describes the 43.50 mm green-dial, rubber-strap US reference 01 400 7790 4157-07 4 23 47EB; other Aquis Calibre 400 variants may differ.

Which has the longer power reserve?

The Oris has the longer published reserve: 120 hours, compared with approximately 50 hours for the SLA079’s Seiko 8L35. That is a 70-hour difference in the manufacturers’ stated figures. In practical terms, the Oris is specified to run longer off the wrist before it needs to be wound or worn again, assuming it is fully wound and otherwise operating as intended. The specifications alone do not establish comparative accuracy, reliability or performance in use.

Seiko lists the 8L35 as automatic with manual winding, with 26 jewels, a frequency of 28,800 vibrations per hour, date and stop-seconds. Oris lists the Calibre 400 at 28,800 A/h, with automatic winding, date and stop-seconds. These published details describe the movements; they are not a head-to-head assessment of movement quality.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

How do the cases compare for fit?

The SLA079 is 42.6 mm across, 13.4 mm thick and 49.3 mm lug-to-lug, with 20 mm lug spacing. The cited Aquis is 43.50 mm in diameter and has a 23 mm interhorn width. Oris’s cited US page does not state comparable thickness, lug-to-lug length or weight, so diameter alone cannot show which watch will wear smaller or suit a particular wrist better.

The SLA079’s listed weight is 196.0 g. Seiko specifies a stainless-steel case, dual-curved sapphire crystal with inner anti-reflective coating, unidirectional bezel, screw-down crown and screw case back. The cited Oris configuration has a multi-piece stainless-steel case, ceramic minutes-scale top ring, domed sapphire crystal with inner anti-reflective coating and a screwed see-through sapphire case back. The listed strap is rubber. These construction details distinguish the configurations, but they do not establish which feels more comfortable or has better finishing.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Are both rated to 300 metres?

Yes. Seiko rates the SLA079 at 300 m / 1000 ft and describes it as a diver’s watch; Oris lists 30 bar for the cited Aquis. Those are the manufacturers’ ratings. Follow each watch’s operating and care guidance, and do not treat a depth rating as a recommendation to operate the crown or pushers underwater.

What does Oris’s ten-year warranty require?

On the cited US product page, Oris lists a two-year base warranty and says MyOris registration extends coverage to ten years at no charge. Registration is therefore required for the stated extension. Oris also describes a ten-year recommended service interval and everyday anti-magnetism. These are distinct claims: the service recommendation is not a warranty term, and neither should be treated as equivalent to Seiko’s stated 4,800 A/m magnetic-resistance figure. Check the warranty conditions that apply in your country and to the exact reference before buying.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which is the better buy?

The available prices are not a like-for-like comparison. Seiko’s UK page displayed GBP 2,580.00 for the SLA079, while Oris’s US page displayed USD 4,100.00 for the specified green-dial, rubber-strap 43.50 mm reference. A separate French Oris page displayed EUR 3,600.00 for a different blue-dial, rubber-strap configuration. These are regional listing prices for different products, not evidence of which watch costs less in a buyer’s market. Compare current prices for the exact references in the same country, along with local warranty terms.

On the published specifications, the Oris is the straightforward choice if a longer reserve is your priority. The Seiko provides a more fully stated case-size profile and a published precision range, while the Oris page gives a longer stated reserve and specific service and registered-warranty terms. Neither set of specifications settles comfort, real-world accuracy, bezel feel, lume, durability, reliability, resale value or service cost; those need independent evidence or direct assessment.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Journal

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.