Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
WatchRanker
Search
For vendors
archive extract

Watch Archive Extracts: Which Brands Offer Them?

Longines, Patek Philippe and Zenith have current official archive-extract details. Learn what the documents report, what they cost, and what they cannot prove.

By WatchRanker Team 5 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Several watchmakers offer documents drawn from their historical records, but current terms are confirmed here for Longines, Patek Philippe and Zenith. A 2018 overview also listed Tissot, Omega, Vacheron Constantin, Jaeger-LeCoultre, Audemars Piguet, A. Lange & Söhne and IWC; treat those names as a dated starting point, not confirmation that each service is still available on the same terms.

What is an extract from the archives?

An archive extract is a manufacturer’s report of historical information recorded about a particular watch. What it can say depends on the brand’s records and the information that brand chooses to provide. Patek Philippe describes its document as “a partial transcript” concerning a specific timepiece from its archives, which it says have been meticulously recorded since 1839.

An extract is not automatically an authentication, condition report, warranty, or valuation. It describes archival information; it does not establish that the watch’s present-day components are original or still match the configuration recorded by the manufacturer.

Which watch brands offer archive extracts?

Balazs Ferenczi’s November 19, 2018 overview in Fratello named ten brands with archive-related services at that time. Current official service details are confirmed here for three of them:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Brand Current details confirmed What the document may provide
Longines The official US customer-service page lists eligibility for watches more than ten years old, a fee of CHF 120, and an estimated four to five weeks plus shipping. The price and terms are those on the US page and may not apply identically in every region. Historical information from Longines’ archives. The brand expressly says the extract does not certify the authenticity of the watch or its components.
Patek Philippe The first-sale date must be more than ten years before the request. One request per watch is allowed per twelve-month period; the fee is CHF 500. Photographs are required to assess whether the watch visually complies with the archive description. Ineligible-request fees are refunded. A partial transcript of archival information. Patek Philippe retains the right to issue or deny an extract.
Zenith The extracts page lists CHF 150 for either a digital or printed extract. Zenith requests watch details and photographs. Based on case and movement serial numbers, an extract may report the model, functions, caliber and production date. Zenith says it does not estimate the watch’s value.

For the current conditions, see the brands’ official pages: Longines’ “History of my watch”, Patek Philippe’s Extract from the Archives FAQ, and Zenith’s extracts page. Zenith also explains its distinction between extracts and certificates.

Other brands named in the 2018 overview

Ferenczi’s 2018 article also listed Tissot, Omega, Vacheron Constantin, Jaeger-LeCoultre, Audemars Piguet, A. Lange & Söhne and IWC. Their current service status and terms are not confirmed here. Contact the relevant manufacturer for current availability, requirements and fees before sending information or a watch.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Seiko is a different case

The 2018 article described Seiko’s WatchSleuth Date Finder as an unofficial alternative, not a Seiko archive-extract service. It should not be counted as an official manufacturer archive extract.

How do the confirmed services differ?

The brands set different age thresholds, fees and application requirements. The table below distinguishes the service details currently listed by each official source; it does not imply that the documents have identical scope.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Brand Eligibility Application information Fee and delivery Separate service distinction
Longines Watch must be more than ten years old. Consult the official US customer-service page for the request process. CHF 120; estimated four to five weeks plus shipping, according to the US page. Longines’ Certificate of Authenticity is a different service; the archive extract itself does not certify authenticity.
Patek Philippe First-sale date must be more than ten years before the request; one request per timepiece per twelve-month period. Photographs are required to assess visual compliance with the archive description. CHF 500. The fee is refunded if the watch is ineligible. The cited FAQ does not state a turnaround time. The extract is not the Certificate of Origin supplied with a new watch. Patek Philippe says the Certificate of Origin serves as a warranty and cannot be replaced with a copy.
Zenith The extracts page does not state an age threshold. Zenith requests photographs and watch details, including the case and movement serial numbers used for the extract. CHF 150 for either digital or printed delivery. The cited extracts page does not state a turnaround time. Zenith’s Certificate of Origin is separate and involves examination at the manufacture.

What an extract can—and cannot—tell you

It can provide a reference point for research

A brand’s archive may help identify a watch or establish historical details recorded for its serial numbers. Zenith says its extract may identify the model, functions, caliber and production date. The actual information available varies by brand and surviving records, so request an extract only with the expectation that it reports what the archive can support.

It does not prove the watch is authentic as it exists today

Longines explicitly warns that its extract does not certify the authenticity of the timepiece or its components. Even where an extract describes an original configuration, it cannot by itself show whether parts have since been replaced, altered or assembled from different watches. Compare the physical watch with the extract and seek an independent assessment when authenticity or condition matters.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

It is not a valuation or a promise of resale value

Zenith says its extract does not estimate value. An extract may be useful information for a collector or buyer, but it does not establish a market price or guarantee that the watch will sell for more.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to request one

  1. Identify the relevant manufacturer. Check that it currently offers an archive service, rather than relying only on an older directory or article.
  2. Read the official service page for your region. Confirm age eligibility, fee, delivery format, expected timing and whether the service is an extract or a different certificate.
  3. Gather the requested watch details and photographs. Zenith’s service uses case and movement serial numbers; Patek Philippe requires photographs to assess visual compliance. Follow the specific brand’s instructions.
  4. Wait for the brand’s eligibility and records review. An old watch is not necessarily documented, and submitting a request does not guarantee an extract. Patek Philippe says it may deny issuance and refunds the fee when a watch is ineligible.
  5. Compare the document with the actual watch. Treat an extract as archival evidence, then separately assess the watch’s current parts, condition and authenticity.

Why old prices should not be used as current quotes

Ferenczi’s November 19, 2018 article reported fees of free for Longines, CHF 100 for Tissot, CHF 120 excluding VAT for Omega, CHF 150 for Patek Philippe, and CHF 60 for Zenith digital or CHF 80 for printed delivery. These are historical figures, not current price guidance. The current official pages cited above list CHF 120 for Longines on its US page, CHF 500 for Patek Philippe, and CHF 150 for either Zenith format. Check the manufacturer’s page before applying, because fees and terms can change.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Journal

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.