The A. Lange & Söhne ZEITWERK displays the time with jumping numerals, not electronic digits: one disc shows the hour and two show the minutes. Its patented constant-force escapement helps manage the energy needed to switch those discs while supplying the balance with consistent force. The standard model introduced in 2022 is the second generation, with calibre L043.6 and a stated 72-hour power reserve; earlier references and complication variants have different specifications.
How the ZEITWERK displays time
Three numeral discs sit behind apertures across the dial. Read from left to right: the first shows the hour, while the next two show the tens and units of the minutes. The result looks digital, but the display is mechanically driven. There are no electronic digits or conventional hands indicating the hours and minutes.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
A. Lange & Sohne Highlights | $29.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
[3 Pack] Puccy Tempered Glass Screen Protector Compatible with A. Lange Sohne Zeitwerk Striking Time... | $10.99 | Buy on Amazon |
The numerals jump rather than moving gradually around a dial. At each minute boundary, the display advances to the next time. At the top of the hour, all three discs switch together; at other minute changes, the switching depends on which numeral discs need to advance. A. Lange & Söhne says the transition occurs in a fraction of a second. The ZEITWERK family page describes the display and its switching mechanism.
Why the constant-force escapement matters
A sudden display change demands energy. In the ZEITWERK, the patented constant-force escapement triggers the switching impulse at 60-second intervals and, according to the manufacturer, helps keep the force reaching the balance consistent. That is intended to support rate stability as the watch drives its changing display; it does not make the numerals electronic. A. Lange & Söhne’s ZEITWERK family explanation describes the escapement’s role.
#1 Best Overall
The second-generation standard model’s calibre L043.6 has seven patents, according to the company’s 2022 announcement. The same release states that its fully wound energy budget covers 4,320 minute jumps: 72 with all three discs moving, 360 with two discs moving, and 3,888 with one disc moving. These are manufacturer-stated engineering figures, not an independent endurance test. The 2022 release for the new ZEITWERK provides the breakdown.
Second-generation ZEITWERK: calibre, reserve and dimensions
The standard ZEITWERK announced in 2022 uses calibre L043.6, a manually wound movement with a twin-mainspring barrel design. A. Lange & Söhne gives it a 72-hour power reserve. The release lists the case at 41.9 mm in diameter and 12.2 mm high. Those figures describe the second-generation standard model announced in 2022, not every watch in the ZEITWERK family.
The official family page depicts the platinum reference 142.025 and pink-gold reference 142.031. The 2022 announcement introduced platinum and pink-gold versions; it does not establish that every announced variant is currently available. The announcement and the current family page are the relevant manufacturer sources for those model details.
How ZEITWERK references and variants differ
Reference, calibre and complication matter when comparing ZEITWERK watches. The dimensions and reserve of one reference should not be assumed for another.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #2
- Tempered Glass Screen Protector works with A. Lange Sohne Zeitwerk Striking Time 145.029
- 9H Hardness can effectively resist daily scratches.
- Dust-free,bubble free,one-push super easily installation.
- Oleophobic Screen Coating protects against sweat and oil residue from fingerprints.
- 0.33mm thick keep the screen responsive to every touch and tap.
| Model or reference | Movement and power reserve | Case or added function |
|---|---|---|
| Second-generation standard ZEITWERK, announced 2022 | Calibre L043.6; 72-hour power reserve; twin-mainspring barrel design, per the 2022 announcement. | 41.9 mm diameter and 12.2 mm height in the release; platinum and pink-gold versions were announced. Source: A. Lange & Söhne, 2022. |
| ZEITWERK in white gold, reference 140.029 | Calibre L043.1; 36-hour power reserve. | 41.9 mm diameter; 12.6 mm height; black dial. Its official page marks the reference outside the current collection. Source: reference 140.029 page. |
| ZEITWERK DATE | Calibre L043.8 is identified on the official model page; a power-reserve figure is not stated there. | Adds a date ring and date correction to the time display. Source: ZEITWERK DATE page. |
| ZEITWERK DECIMAL STRIKE, honey-gold edition announced in 2017 | Power-reserve figure is not stated in the cited 2017 announcement. | Chimes every ten minutes; A. Lange & Söhne announced an edition of 100 pieces. That historical announcement does not establish current availability. Source: A. Lange & Söhne, 2017. |
The 140.029’s figures belong to that earlier white-gold reference; its 36-hour reserve is not the reserve of the second-generation standard model. The manufacturer lists 140.029 outside the current collection, which does not establish whether examples can be found on the secondary market. For any specific watch, confirm its reference and condition rather than relying on the family name alone.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What the design contributes
The curved time bridge frames the indications and makes the display architecture easy to read as part of the movement rather than as a screen-like overlay. It is made from German silver, also known as nickel silver or maillechort, a material A. Lange & Söhne associates with movement frame parts. In the 2022 design refinement, the small seconds at six o’clock received more room, and the final twelve hours of the power-reserve scale are marked in red. The manufacturer’s 2022 release describes these refinements.
What to check when comparing a ZEITWERK
- Reference and generation: Confirm whether the watch is the second-generation standard model or an earlier reference such as 140.029.
- Calibre and reserve: Match the movement and power-reserve figure to that exact reference; L043.6 and 72 hours apply to the standard model announced in 2022, while 140.029 uses L043.1 and has a stated 36-hour reserve.
- Case details: Compare material and dimensions only against the specification for the reference under consideration.
- Complication: Decide whether the jumping time display alone is what you want, or whether the date indication or a striking function is relevant.
The manufacturer pages cited here establish model specifications and historical announcements, not live prices, stock, condition or regional availability. Check a current manufacturer or authorized-retailer listing before making a purchase decision.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →




