Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Best clock-first pick: Pix-Star, because its manual documents a clock display setting alongside date and time controls. Best for family sharing: Nixplay Classic 10.1-inch, which lists a clock mode and accepts photos by app, web, and email. Skylight is a promising simple gift, but its current product copy does not explain exactly how its clock works. Aura is a strong no-subscription photo frame, not a verified clock-first choice.
A “photo frame clock” can mean a digital frame that overlays the time on photos, switches to a clock-only screen, or shows time in a menu—or a conventional clock with a small photo area. Those are different experiences. The recommendations below focus on digital photo frames with documented or explicitly qualified clock support; they do not assume that a clock in a product image stays visible during a slideshow.
Photo frame clocks compared
Prices below are U.S. prices listed or observed by the manufacturers in August 2026, where supplied; promotions, stock, and plan terms can change. “Clock unclear” means the available official product copy does not establish how or when the time appears. The table distinguishes a documented clock feature from a verified always-visible overlay.
| Model | Clock evidence | Screen and local storage | Uploads and Wi-Fi | Subscription and price signal | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pix-Star LUX 10.4-inch | Manual documents a “Display Clock” slideshow option and date/time settings; it does not establish that the clock is permanently overlaid on every photo. | 1024×768, 4:3, 300 cd/m²; 16GB, USB and SD support. | Wi-Fi, local media, and cloud/photo-service support. | Company advertises free lifetime cloud storage and no hidden fees. Check current shop price. | Clock controls and offline media flexibility. |
| Nixplay Classic 10.1-inch | Official comparison lists “Clock mode”; continuous overlay behavior and which controls require a plan are not established here. | 10.1-inch, 16:9, touchscreen, dual orientation; local USB/SD playback not listed in cited comparison. | Mobile, web, and email uploads; Wi-Fi-based sharing. | $159.99 frame; Nixplay Plus listed at $29.99/year for full software features. | Families sharing photos remotely. |
| Skylight Frame 10-inch | Clock appears in official page imagery, but clock mode and slideshow behavior are unclear in the accessible product copy. | 10-inch touchscreen; local storage specifications not stated on the cited page. | App and email sharing; Wi-Fi needed for remote delivery. | Basic photo sharing without account or subscription; observed $159.99 list and $139.99 promotional prices. | Gift-oriented sharing, if clock behavior is confirmed before buying. |
| Skylight Frame 2 | Clock behavior not confirmed in cited product copy. | Full HD touchscreen; local storage details not stated on cited page. | App and email sharing; cloud backup is among Frame Plus features. | $199.99 listed; first month of Frame Plus free, then $39/year. | A larger-feature set for photo sharing, not a verified clock purchase. |
| Aura Aspen | Dedicated clock mode not clearly established by current cited product materials. | 12-inch, 1600×1200, 4:3, anti-glare; portrait and landscape support. | Wi-Fi/cloud delivery; USB or SD workflow not documented on cited page. | No subscription fee; $229 listed by Aura’s shop. | Display quality and design when a clock is optional. |
| Aura Walden | Dedicated clock mode not clearly established by current cited product materials. | 15-inch, 1600×1200, 4:3, anti-glare; tabletop or wall mounting. | Wi-Fi/cloud required. | No subscription fee; $299 listed by Aura’s shop. | A large, wall-mountable photo display when time is not essential. |
For other Aura choices, the shop listed Carver at $149, Carver Mat at $179, and Aura Ink at $499; none is established here as a dedicated clock frame. Carver and Carver Mat are 10-inch models, while Ink is a 13-inch e-paper display. See Aura’s shop for current availability and product details.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Best overall for clock controls: Pix-Star
Pix-Star is the clearest recommendation when seeing the time is a real requirement rather than a bonus. Its user guide explicitly lists “Display Clock” among slideshow options and includes date-and-time configuration, automatic on/off, and brightness controls. It also documents calendar information. That is stronger evidence than a clock pictured in marketing material, although it does not by itself prove that the time remains overlaid on every photo. Check the intended display behavior against the frame’s on-device settings before relying on it as an always-visible clock. Pix-Star user guide
The line is useful for homes where internet access is unreliable or a family wants another way to load pictures. The 10.4-inch LUX model is listed with 16GB internal storage, USB and SD support, and 4:3 resolution of 1024×768 at 300 cd/m². The 15-inch model is listed at 1024×768 with 8GB; the 17-inch LUX is listed at 1280×960 with 16GB. Pix-Star also lists Wi-Fi and connections to services such as Google Photos and Dropbox. These are manufacturer specifications, not an independent image-quality comparison. Pix-Star specifications Pix-Star features
Trade-offs to consider
- The 4:3 format is a practical match for many family-photo collections, but phone images can also be 16:9, square, panoramic, or portrait; cropping or empty bars depend on the image and display settings.
- Pix-Star is less of a minimalist, décor-first proposition than a frame chosen primarily for its finish. If an unobtrusive lifestyle design matters more than clock controls or local media, compare Aura and Skylight—but do not assume their clock behavior.
- The company advertises free lifetime cloud storage and no hidden fees. That is a vendor policy claim, not a guarantee that a cloud service or product will be supported forever. Its local USB/SD and internal-storage options offer an alternative content path. Pix-Star
Best for family sharing with a documented clock mode: Nixplay Classic
Nixplay’s official comparison lists a “Clock mode” for its frames and describes uploads by mobile app, web app, and email. The 10.1-inch Classic has a touchscreen and supports either orientation. The evidence supports saying it has a clock mode; it does not establish that the time stays visible over every image or specify whether clock controls are included without Nixplay Plus. Confirm both details with Nixplay for the exact model and plan before purchase. Nixplay feature comparison Nixplay Classic product page
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What the subscription changes
Nixplay listed the Classic at $159.99 and Nixplay Plus at $29.99 per year for full software features. If a buyer wants those full features continuously at the listed rate, a simple five-year total is $309.94: $159.99 plus five annual fees of $29.99. That calculation assumes the frame price and annual fee stay unchanged, with no promotion or tax. Ask which upload, storage, and clock features continue if Plus is not renewed; the cited comparison does not settle every post-cancellation detail.
Recommended Free Tools
Nixplay suits families who value several remote upload routes and are comfortable managing an account and recurring plan. Pix-Star is a better fit if USB/SD media or avoiding a paid plan is the priority.
Best gift-oriented option, with a clock caveat: Skylight
Skylight’s touchscreen and app/email photo sharing make it a plausible choice for a recipient who should not have to learn a complicated upload process. The company says contributors can send photos without creating an account or subscribing, and its standard frame product page describes app and email uploads. However, a clock shown in an image is not enough to establish whether the time appears during a slideshow, in a separate mode, or only on a screen saver. Do not buy Skylight specifically as a clock until the current manual or support team confirms the behavior for the exact model. Skylight Frame
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Models, prices, and Frame Plus
The standard 10-inch model was shown at $159.99 list and $139.99 promotional pricing; the 15-inch model at $299.99 list and $269.99 promotional pricing. Those are observed promotional signals, not guaranteed current prices. Skylight Frame 2 was listed at $199.99. Its product page offered a first month of Frame Plus free, followed by $39 per year. The page describes Frame Plus features such as albums, remote control, and cloud backup; basic photo sharing is available without a subscription. Skylight Frame 2
A gift buyer can do much of the setup—connecting Wi-Fi, configuring the account, and inviting contributors—before handing over the frame. That is different from a device the recipient can set up unaided: the buyer still needs reliable Wi-Fi and must be available to help if the network password changes.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Best no-subscription photo-quality alternative: Aura
Aura’s Carver, Carver Mat, Aspen, Walden, and Ink are worth considering when photo presentation, design, remote sharing, and avoiding a recurring fee matter more than a confirmed clock. Aura says its frames include unlimited photo and video storage, sharing, the app, and core frame features without subscription fees. Its product material describes automatic on/off and lighting adjustment; it does not clearly establish a dedicated clock mode for the models covered here. Treat Aura as a photo-frame alternative, not a clock-first recommendation. Aura shop
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Which Aura size makes sense?
- Carver and Carver Mat: 10-inch options for a desk, bedside table, or smaller counter. The Mat adds a paper-like border treatment; the shop listed them at $149 and $179 respectively.
- Aspen: 12-inch 1600×1200 anti-glare 4:3 display, with portrait and landscape support; listed at $229. Aura Aspen
- Walden: 15-inch 1600×1200 anti-glare 4:3 display, designed for tabletop or wall mounting and supplied with a wall-mounting kit; listed at $299. Its larger size can make photos easier to see across a room, but does not make it a verified clock. Aura Walden
- Aura Ink: 13-inch e-paper model, listed with cordless operation, up to three months of battery life, and automatic brightness. It is not established here as a clock-first frame; the shop listed it at $499. Aura shop
Aura frames require Wi-Fi because content is delivered through the cloud. A network outage can prevent new remote uploads; check the exact model’s offline behavior if it must function as a dependable clock without internet. Aura Walden
Which type of photo frame clock should you buy?
- You need a clock feature documented by the manufacturer: Start with Pix-Star, whose manual documents display-clock controls, or Nixplay, whose comparison lists Clock mode. Verify whether your desired presentation is an overlay or a separate clock screen.
- You want USB or SD card playback: Choose Pix-Star among the documented candidates here; its specifications list both alongside internal storage and Wi-Fi.
- You want remote family contributions with no subscription: Compare Skylight’s basic app/email photo sharing with Aura’s included cloud sharing. Neither is a confirmed clock-first choice in the cited materials.
- You want a premium-looking frame and the time is optional: Aura Aspen or Walden offer anti-glare 4:3 displays; choose screen size based on where it will sit and how far away people will view it.
- You want a large living-room display: Consider 15- to 17-inch models, but compare resolution as well as diagonal size. Pix-Star’s listed 15-inch resolution is 1024×768, while its 17-inch LUX is 1280×960; Aura Walden is 1600×1200. Skylight lists a 15-inch version, but its cited page does not establish a clock mode.
- You want it beside a bed: Require an explicit sleep schedule, screen-off setting, or reliable dimming behavior. Pix-Star documents automatic on/off and brightness controls; Aura says its frames adjust to room lighting and turn off in the dark. Do not assume a model’s clock remains readable at night or that a bright screen will be comfortable in a dark room. Pix-Star user guide Aura shop
Subscriptions and the cost beyond checkout
A low initial price can become a higher ownership cost if a paid plan is needed for the functions the household expects. Using the observed prices and annual fees supplied for these models, and assuming no changes or taxes:
| Option | Purchase signal | Recurring plan signal | Illustrative five-year total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nixplay Classic 10.1-inch with Plus | $159.99 | $29.99/year for full software features | $309.94 if Plus is paid for five years. |
| Skylight Frame 2 with Frame Plus | $199.99 | First month free, then $39/year | $355.99 if five full annual charges are incurred; actual first-year billing depends on the free month and billing date. |
| Aura frame | Varies by model; $149 Carver, $179 Carver Mat, $229 Aspen, $299 Walden, and $499 Ink listed by Aura. | No subscription fee, according to Aura. | Purchase price only for the stated core service; taxes and any future policy changes are excluded. |
| Pix-Star | Check official shop for current model price. | Company advertises free lifetime cloud storage and no hidden fees. | Not calculable from the supplied current price information. |
These totals are useful only if the paid plan is actually needed. For Nixplay, the fee is tied to full software features; for Skylight, Frame Plus adds features beyond basic sharing. Confirm whether the exact clock function, photo retention, and remote uploads continue after a plan ends before choosing on cost alone. Nixplay plans Skylight Frame 2 plan
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Wi-Fi, offline playback, and reliability
Cloud-first frames simplify sending pictures from another home, but depend on an internet connection for new uploads and on a vendor account or service for cloud features. Aura explicitly requires Wi-Fi for cloud-delivered content. Pix-Star combines Wi-Fi with USB, SD, and internal storage, making it the more flexible choice where local playback matters. The available material does not establish exactly how every model behaves during a long outage, whether all clock modes continue offline, or what remains after a vendor service changes; confirm those cases for the product before relying on it as a clock.
- Wi-Fi password changes: Someone may need to reconnect the frame locally. A remote uploader cannot fix a device that has lost access to the home network.
- Time and time zone: Check whether the frame automatically detects its location or permits manual time-zone adjustment. A gift shipped elsewhere may need local configuration; the cited materials do not specify all models’ time-zone or daylight-saving behavior.
- Subscription lapse: Ask whether previously received photos remain visible, whether new uploads stop, and whether clock settings are plan-dependent. These details should not be inferred from a free-trial offer.
- Vendor dependence: Unlimited cloud storage does not mean unlimited local storage or guaranteed permanent service. Keep originals in a separate library and check whether images can be exported or deleted from the account.
Clock readability, placement, and setup
A photo frame may look like a clock on a product page yet be difficult to use as one. Before purchase, determine whether time is visible during the slideshow, whether the display includes the date, and whether the clock can be moved or changed in size and contrast. The cited Pix-Star manual documents display-clock and date/time settings, but the supplied evidence does not establish analog-versus-digital faces or every customization option. For Nixplay, a Clock mode is listed, but exact overlay and plan behavior should be confirmed. Skylight’s clock behavior remains unclear in its cited product copy; Aura’s dedicated clock mode is not clearly established.
Match screen size to viewing distance: 10 inches generally suits a bedside table, desk, or kitchen counter; 12 inches is more prominent on a shelf; 15 to 17 inches is easier to see across a room or on a wall, but occupies more space and makes the frame more visually dominant. These are practical placement guidelines, not a guarantee that the clock text will be readable: font size, image brightness behind it, glare, and viewing angle matter too. A 4:3 screen can reduce cropping for some family collections, but portrait photos may still need cropping, bars, or a different display treatment.
For tabletop use, check where the power cable exits and whether it will be visible from the normal viewing angle. For wall mounting, confirm the included mounting hardware and outlet location; Aura Walden lists a wall-mounting kit as included. Avoid placing a glossy touch display opposite a bright window if clock legibility is important. For a bedroom, verify the sleep schedule or screen-off controls in the exact model’s manual rather than assuming that auto-brightness will make it dark enough.
Privacy and family-sharing safeguards
Remote photo sharing means photos are associated with accounts, devices, or invitation links. The sources cited here do not provide a basis for ranking vendors’ security or calling one service more private. Before loading family pictures, review the current account’s sharing permissions, contributor controls, deletion and export options, and account-recovery process. Give upload access only to people who need it, and decide who can remove or manage photos. If the frame is being sold or gifted onward, remove it from the original account and reset it according to the manufacturer’s current instructions.
Cloud convenience also creates a moderation issue: a shared frame can display anything a contributor uploads. Choose who can send images and agree on the intended album or audience. For a product that is actually a smart display rather than a dedicated photo frame, separately inspect its camera and microphone settings; those concerns should not be assumed to apply to photo frames without such hardware.
Quick Recap
Buying checklist
- Is the clock visible over photos, shown in a separate clock mode, or only in a menu or screen saver?
- Does it show the date as well as the time, and can the recipient’s time zone be set?
- Which clock features work without a subscription?
- Does it need Wi-Fi to show cached photos or keep the clock running?
- Does it support USB or SD cards if the internet is unavailable?
- Can the buyer preload photos and invite contributors before gifting?
- Can family members upload without creating accounts?
- What happens to uploaded photos and remote sharing if a paid plan ends?
- Can brightness be reduced, and can the display sleep on a schedule?
- Is the screen large and glare-resistant enough for the intended viewing distance?
- Can the owner recover the account, remove contributors, export photos, and reset the frame?
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




