The Citizen Promaster Aqualand pairs a conventional dive-watch water-resistance rating with a separate electronic depth display—a combination that gives the line its identity. This review focuses on the current U.S. analog Eco-Drive BN2038-01L. It is not the 2025 digital-display 40th-anniversary JP2008-06E, nor the earlier Aqualand generations. “Blue collar” is best understood as an editorial description of the Promaster’s practical, professional-minded positioning, not a verified claim about who buys it.
Which Citizen Aqualand is this review about?
The reviewed reference is the Citizen Promaster Aqualand BN2038-01L, an analog-display watch powered by Citizen’s J250 Eco-Drive caliber. Citizen’s U.S. product page lists a blue dial, 46 mm case, polyurethane strap and mineral crystal. It also lists a date, power-reserve indicator, automatic dive-mode start, maximum-depth memory and rapid-ascent alarm. The page showed “Sold Out” when accessed; that is a snapshot of the listing, not proof that the reference is permanently discontinued. Citizen U.S. BN2038-01L specifications.
The Aqualand name spans substantially different watches. The BN2038-01L is an analog Eco-Drive model; the JP2008-06E anniversary version uses a digital display and C520 caliber. Older archive models have their own functions and specifications. Treating those variants as one watch would blur meaningful differences.
What does the Aqualand depth meter measure?
On the BN2038-01L, the depth display measures depth to a maximum of 70 m, according to Citizen’s U.S. specification. That figure is the measurement range of the depth function; it is not the watch’s water-resistance rating. Citizen lists the two values separately: the BN2038-01L has a 70 m depth display and 200 m (20 bar) water resistance. Citizen U.S. product page.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The distinction matters: a depth gauge reports a measured depth, while a water-resistance rating describes a different specification. A 70 m display does not mean the watch is rated to only 70 m, and the 200 m rating does not mean its electronic depth display measures to 200 m.
The idea dates to 1985. Citizen says its original Aqualand—called “Depth Meter” in Japan—was the world’s first wristwatch with an electronic depth gauge, measuring to 80 m in 0.1 m increments. That early maximum is a specification of the 1985 watch, not the BN2038-01L. Citizen’s diver-watch technology history.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Is the Citizen Aqualand a dive watch?
The BN2038-01L is a dive-oriented watch with 200 m water resistance and dive functions, but Citizen says it reserves the term “diver’s watch” for watches conforming to ISO 6425. Citizen describes that standard as requiring at least 100 m water resistance alongside other criteria, including readability, magnetic and shock resistance, and strap strength. The depth-meter range alone does not establish ISO 6425 conformity. Citizen Japan’s diver-watch standards overview.
Citizen’s product page gives the BN2038-01L’s water resistance and dive features, but the cited listing does not establish ISO 6425 conformity for this specific reference. The careful answer is that its specifications make it a substantial dive-oriented watch; do not infer a standards designation from its depth display or water-resistance number alone.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallRank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How does the BN2038-01L work as a practical watch?
Analog display and dive functions
The analog layout retains the familiar timekeeping face while adding depth information and dive-related functions. Citizen lists automatic dive-mode start, maximum-depth memory and a rapid-ascent alarm. Those features make the Aqualand more purpose-built than a standard three-hand watch, although the official specifications do not substitute for hands-on assessment of legibility, usability or behavior underwater.
Eco-Drive power and listed specifications
The BN2038-01L uses the J250 Eco-Drive caliber. Citizen’s page lists a 46 mm case, polyurethane strap, mineral crystal, date and power-reserve indicator. A 46 mm case is a substantial stated diameter, but the available specifications do not establish how it wears on a particular wrist. Comfort and fit should be assessed in person where possible.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Citizen’s 2014 Japanese archive describes an earlier Eco-Drive analog Aqualand with J250 caliber, maximum-depth measurement to 70 m, maximum-depth memory and water-sensing dive-mode switching. It gives monthly accuracy of ±15 seconds when not radio-controlled and marks that archived model discontinued. Those details belong to the archived 2014 model and should not be assumed to be current BN2038-01L test results. The archive records its original Japanese launch price as ¥88,000–¥98,000; this is historical pricing, not a current price. Citizen PROMASTER history.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How does the 2025 40th-anniversary Aqualand differ?
The JP2008-06E is a separate 2025 anniversary model with a digital display, not another dial variant of the BN2038-01L. Citizen’s European shop lists its C520 caliber and functions including time, calendar, alarm, chronograph, depth measurement, dive-time tracking and ascent-speed alarm. It specifies ±20 seconds per month accuracy, 200 m water resistance, a 50.7 mm diameter, 14.8 mm height and a biomass-based polyurethane band. The shop states a worldwide quantity of 5,800, a recommended retail price of €479 and availability from July 2025; those edition and price details are the European shop’s stated terms, not a guarantee of current stock or pricing in another market. Citizen Onlineshop Europe: 40 Jahre Aqualand.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
| Model or generation | Display and power | Depth and water resistance | Other established details |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1985 original Aqualand (Citizen technology history) | Electronic depth gauge; power source not stated on the cited history page | Measures to 80 m in 0.1 m increments; water resistance not stated on the cited history page | Introduced as “Depth Meter” in Japan; Citizen calls it the first wristwatch with an electronic depth gauge. |
| 2014 Eco-Drive analog Aqualand (Citizen Japan archive) | Analog; J250 Eco-Drive | Measures to 70 m; water-resistance figure not stated in the cited archive details | Maximum-depth memory and water-sensing switch; monthly accuracy ±15 seconds when not radio-controlled; discontinued in archive. |
| BN2038-01L (current U.S. product page) | Analog; J250 Eco-Drive | Depth display to 70 m; 200 m / 20 bar water resistance | 46 mm case; automatic dive-mode start, maximum-depth memory and rapid-ascent alarm. Citizen’s page showed “Sold Out” when accessed. |
| JP2008-06E (2025 European anniversary listing) | Digital; C520 | Depth measurement; 200 m water resistance | 50.7 mm diameter, 14.8 mm height; 5,800 worldwide and €479 recommended retail price stated by Citizen Europe; listed availability from July 2025. |
For the 1996 Aqualand archive model, Citizen describes water-sensing automatic depth measurement and storage of the latest four dive logs, including maximum depth, time and water-temperature information; it marks that model discontinued. The archive does not make those features specifications of either current reference. Citizen Japan 1996 Aqualand archive.
What does “blue collar” mean in this review?
Citizen says it launched the PROMASTER brand in 1989 for professionals working across land, sea and air. That history supports describing the line as professional-minded, but “blue collar” is an editorial shorthand rather than a sourced sales profile or claim about the Aqualand’s buyers. Citizen PROMASTER history.
Citizen Promaster Aqualand review: who should consider it?
The BN2038-01L is the relevant choice to consider if you want an analog Eco-Drive Aqualand with a dedicated depth display, memory and dive alerts, and you value its 200 m water-resistance specification. Its 46 mm case and mineral crystal are concrete trade-offs to weigh against your fit and use preferences; no independent wear or durability testing is established here. If you want the anniversary model’s digital dive-time tracking and ascent-speed alarm, compare the distinct JP2008-06E rather than assuming those are features of the BN2038-01L.
Neither model’s stated depth function should be confused with its water-resistance rating, and neither a depth figure nor water resistance by itself proves ISO 6425 conformity. The BN2038-01L’s present availability and local street price are not established by Citizen’s specifications page.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




