Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
The Citizen Tsuno is the better choice for a compact, unmistakably retro bullhead chronograph and a lower documented regional price. The Seiko Prospex Speedtimer SSC813 is the better choice if solar charging, a sapphire crystal and Seiko’s V192 stopwatch layout matter more than the Tsuno’s 1970s shape. Neither is a universal winner. They are close in size and purpose, but they prioritize different things: the Tsuno AN3700-54E uses conventional battery quartz in a 38 mm case, while the 39 mm Speedtimer uses solar quartz and a more technically specified display.
This comparison keeps the exact references attached to every specification. Citizen uses the Tsuno name across several models, and Seiko’s V192 Speedtimer family changes by region and availability. Check the model number, not just the collection name, before buying.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Which watches are being compared?
The Citizen side is the Tsuno Chrono Quartz AN3700-54E. Citizen’s US product description lists a 38 mm stainless-steel bullhead case, top-mounted chronograph pushers, a black dial with light-brown sub-dials, a date window, a tachymetric scale, caliber 0510 quartz, mineral crystal and water resistance up to 50 metres. Its chronograph is specified to measure up to 12 hours.
The Seiko side is the Prospex Speedtimer SSC813, a member of Seiko’s solar V192 chronograph family. Seiko describes a 39 mm case, curved sapphire glass and the V192 movement’s 60-minute chronograph, 24-hour sub-dial and push-button power-reserve indication.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
These are not interchangeable names for one product. Citizen also lists the closely related Classic Tsuno AN3660-81E, while Seiko’s global catalog contains multiple V192 references, some marked no longer available in particular markets. A retailer listing that omits the reference can therefore describe a materially different watch.
How do the Citizen Tsuno and Seiko Speedtimer compare at a glance?
| Specification | Citizen Tsuno AN3700-54E | Seiko Prospex Speedtimer SSC813 |
|---|---|---|
| Case diameter | 38 mm | 39 mm |
| Case style | Stainless-steel bullhead with top-side pushers | Sports chronograph inspired by Seiko’s 1960s–70s design language |
| Movement | Citizen caliber 0510, conventional quartz | Seiko caliber V192, solar quartz |
| Chronograph indication | Up to 12 hours on the AN3700-54E specification | 60-minute chronograph |
| Other indications | Date and tachymetric scale | 24-hour sub-dial and power-reserve indication shown by pressing a button |
| Crystal | Mineral | Curved sapphire |
| Water resistance | Up to 50 metres | Not stated on the cited SSC813 catalog entry |
| Documented price | A$399 for the related AN3660-81E in Australia; not a universal AN3700-54E price | Not stated on the cited official page |
| Availability | Varies by Tsuno reference and market | Varies by V192 reference and market; some older references are listed as no longer available |
The table shows why a simple “which is better?” answer fails. The Tsuno supplies the distinctive case and a longer stated timing range on the AN3700-54E, while the Speedtimer supplies solar power, sapphire and additional V192 indications.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Is the Citizen Tsuno worth buying for a retro bullhead design?
Yes, if the case shape is the reason you are shopping. The Tsuno’s defining feature is its bullhead layout: the chronograph pushers sit on the top of the case rather than at the conventional two-and-four-o’clock positions. That creates the compact, 1970s-inspired profile that distinguishes it from ordinary round chronographs.
What does the 38 mm Tsuno wear like?
At 38 mm, the AN3700-54E is nominally the smaller watch. The top-side controls and bullhead silhouette make its visual presence different from a conventional 38 mm case; diameter alone does not predict how it will look on your wrist. The arrangement is a style and handling decision, not an objective ergonomic advantage. Some buyers specifically want the unusual top-pusher profile, while others prefer pushers aligned with the case flank.
What functions does caliber 0510 provide?
Citizen identifies the movement as caliber 0510 quartz. On the US AN3700-54E listing, the chronograph measures up to 12 hours, and the dial includes a date and tachymetric scale. Those details belong to that reference. Citizen’s Australian AN3660-81E page describes a related Tsuno with one-second timing up to 60 minutes instead, so do not transfer the 12-hour claim to every Tsuno.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What are the Tsuno’s crystal and water-resistance limits?
The AN3700-54E uses mineral crystal and is rated for water resistance up to 50 metres. Mineral crystal is a conventional cost-conscious choice; sapphire generally offers greater resistance to everyday scratching, but the cited material does not provide a controlled scratch comparison. A 50-metre rating is useful for ordinary splashes and routine daily wear when the watch is maintained as specified, not an invitation to treat the chronograph as a dive watch.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →How much does a Tsuno cost?
Citizen Australia lists the related Classic Tsuno AN3660-81E at A$399 in 2026. That is an Australian list price for that reference, not a global price and not a verified price for the US AN3700-54E. A 2026 Fratello Watches article described a European Challenge Timer Tsuno at €229, but that figure applies to the model discussed in that article and should not replace a current local quotation.
What makes the Seiko Speedtimer SSC813 different?
The SSC813 takes a more conventional sports-chronograph route while retaining Seiko’s 1960s–70s design influence. Its 39 mm case is only 1 mm larger than the Tsuno’s, but the dial layout, crystal and power system make it the more specification-led option in this comparison.
How does Seiko’s V192 solar movement work?
Seiko’s official catalog says the V192 powers its solar chronographs. The movement combines a 60-minute chronograph with a 24-hour sub-dial and a power-reserve indicator that appears when a button is pressed. Solar charging removes routine battery replacement from the normal ownership cycle, although the watch still depends on receiving enough light and eventually requires service for its rechargeable cell and movement.
What does the SSC813 crystal add?
The SSC813 uses curved sapphire glass. Sapphire is the meaningful hardware advantage for buyers who want stronger resistance to surface scratches than a typical mineral crystal can provide. It does not make the case indestructible, and the cited specifications do not establish a head-to-head durability result; it is simply the more premium crystal choice listed for these two watches.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How does the 39 mm case change the choice?
The 39 mm diameter keeps the Speedtimer in the same general compact-sports-watch category as the 38 mm Tsuno. The extra millimetre is less important than the case architecture and dial design: the Speedtimer reads as a conventional sports chronograph, whereas the Tsuno announces its bullhead identity immediately.
Which chronograph layout is more useful?
Choose according to the interval you actually need and the information you want visible. The AN3700-54E is specified for timing up to 12 hours. The V192 in the SSC813 is specified for a 60-minute chronograph, plus a separate 24-hour indication and a button-operated power-reserve display.
When does the Tsuno’s 12-hour specification matter?
A stated 12-hour range is useful for elapsed-time events longer than one hour, provided you are buying the AN3700-54E specifically. The date and tachymetric scale also give the dial the familiar instrument-watch vocabulary associated with vintage racing chronographs.
When is the Speedtimer’s 60-minute layout preferable?
The V192 layout suits users who mainly time short activities and prefer a dedicated 24-hour sub-dial. The power-reserve indication is also practical when you want to check the solar movement’s charge without waiting for symptoms of low power. It is a different information hierarchy rather than proof that the movement is more accurate; no controlled accuracy comparison is established here.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteIs solar quartz better than battery quartz for this purchase?
Solar quartz is usually the lower-maintenance choice for someone who wants to avoid regular battery changes, while conventional quartz keeps the Tsuno’s construction straightforward and helps support its lower-cost positioning. The trade-off is not “modern versus obsolete.” It is convenience and movement layout versus the Tsuno’s simpler, purpose-built bullhead package.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
- Choose solar V192 if the watch will spend much of its time in regular daylight, you want a power-reserve check and you value fewer routine battery changes.
- Choose conventional 0510 quartz if the Tsuno case, dial and lower regional price matter more than a solar charging system.
- Do not assume either is maintenance-free. Seals, pushers, crystal, bracelet and movement components still age, and a rechargeable solar cell eventually needs professional attention.
Which watch has the better crystal and everyday specification?
The Speedtimer wins the crystal comparison on the published specifications because it uses curved sapphire, while the Tsuno uses mineral crystal. The Tsuno counters with a clearly stated 50-metre water-resistance rating on the AN3700-54E. The cited SSC813 entry does not state a water-resistance figure, so it would be misleading to award Seiko a water-resistance advantage or to invent a number.
| Everyday concern | Better-documented option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Scratch-conscious ownership | Speedtimer SSC813 | Curved sapphire is specified; no measured comparison is claimed. |
| Published water-resistance figure | Tsuno AN3700-54E | Citizen states up to 50 metres for this reference. |
| Distinctive wrist presence | Tsuno AN3700-54E | 38 mm bullhead case and top-side pushers are its defining design. |
| Charge convenience | Speedtimer SSC813 | V192 is solar powered and includes a button-operated power-reserve indication. |
Which is the better value: Citizen Tsuno or Seiko Speedtimer?
The Tsuno has the stronger value case when the Australian A$399 listing for the related AN3660-81E is relevant to your market and you want the bullhead design. That figure cannot be used as a universal Tsuno price, and no official SSC813 price is supplied in the cited material, so a global price ranking would be false precision.
Value also includes hardware. The Speedtimer asks you to pay for solar V192 technology and sapphire crystal, while the Tsuno puts more of its identity into the case shape and dial. Compare local prices for the exact reference, then decide whether those two upgrades are worth the difference to you.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →How does availability affect the buying decision?
Search by full reference number. Citizen sells multiple Tsuno models, including a 2026 limited Eco-Drive version with different dimensions and pricing; “Tsuno” alone is not enough to confirm that a listing matches the AN3700-54E. Seiko’s global catalog covers a broad V192 family and marks several older references as no longer available in some markets. A listing for “Speedtimer” may therefore be a different V192 reference or a replacement model.
- Confirm the dial and case reference printed in the listing: AN3700-54E, AN3660-81E or SSC813.
- Check the seller’s region, warranty terms and stated currency.
- Match the crystal, movement and chronograph range against the reference-specific specifications.
- Ask whether the item is current stock, old stock or a replacement reference when the catalog shows changing availability.
- Recheck the final price at checkout because marketplace prices and stock can change.
Which watch should different buyers choose?
Choose the Citizen Tsuno if:
- You want a genuinely compact 1970s bullhead profile rather than a conventional sports chronograph.
- Top-mounted pushers are part of the appeal, not an oddity you are trying to tolerate.
- You prefer the AN3700-54E’s stated 12-hour chronograph range, date and tachymetric scale.
- Your local price makes the Tsuno substantially less expensive than the Speedtimer.
- Mineral crystal and battery quartz are acceptable trade-offs for the design.
Choose the Seiko Speedtimer SSC813 if:
- You want solar quartz and a button-operated power-reserve indication.
- Curved sapphire is a priority for resisting everyday surface scratches.
- A 60-minute chronograph and 24-hour sub-dial fit your timing needs.
- You prefer Seiko’s mainstream sports-chronograph proportions over a bullhead case.
- You are comfortable verifying current regional availability for the SSC813 or its replacement.
What should you check before ordering either chronograph?
Use this short checklist to avoid buying the wrong model:
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
- Reference: Make sure the invoice and watch listing name the full model number.
- Movement: Confirm caliber 0510 for the AN3700-54E or V192 for the SSC813.
- Crystal: Verify mineral for the Tsuno and curved sapphire for the SSC813.
- Timing range: Do not transfer the AN3700-54E’s 12-hour description to the related AN3660-81E, whose Australian listing describes 60-minute timing.
- Water resistance: Use the Tsuno’s stated 50 metres only for that reference; do not infer an SSC813 rating from another Speedtimer.
- Price: Treat A$399 as the 2026 Australian list price for AN3660-81E, not a universal Tsuno price.
- Condition and warranty: Ask how old the stock is and who will handle movement, seal or rechargeable-cell service.
What is not established about these two watches?
The available specifications do not establish a controlled head-to-head test of timekeeping accuracy, impact durability, bracelet comfort or service cost. It is therefore not responsible to call one objectively more accurate, tougher or cheaper to maintain. The defensible conclusion comes from their documented hardware and design priorities: Tsuno for bullhead character and value potential, Speedtimer for solar power and sapphire.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I swim with the Citizen Tsuno or Seiko Speedtimer?
The AN3700-54E is rated up to 50 metres, but that published rating is not a dive rating and does not guarantee safety for every swimming situation or an aging watch. The cited SSC813 specification does not state a water-resistance figure, so verify the exact reference and manufacturer guidance before using it in water.
Does the Citizen Tsuno use the same movement in every model?
No. The AN3700-54E is listed with caliber 0510, while Citizen’s Tsuno family includes other references and a 2026 limited Eco-Drive model with different dimensions and pricing. Treat the collection name as a starting point and confirm the reference and movement.
How often does the Seiko Speedtimer need light?
The V192 is solar powered, but the cited material does not provide a fixed exposure schedule or reserve duration for the SSC813. Keep the dial exposed to ordinary daylight and consult Seiko’s instructions for low-charge symptoms and storage.
Is a bullhead chronograph harder to read than a normal chronograph?
Readability depends on the individual dial and your familiarity with the top-pusher layout. The Tsuno places its controls on top of the case for its signature profile, while the Speedtimer uses a more conventional sports-chronograph arrangement; neither layout has a documented universal readability advantage.
Are the €229 and A$399 prices directly comparable?
No. The €229 figure was reported for a specific European Tsuno model in a 2026 Fratello Watches article, and A$399 is Citizen Australia’s list price for the related AN3660-81E. They come from different references, regions and pricing contexts, so use a current local quote for the exact watch.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

