Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
For most people, the Hamilton Khaki Field Auto is the better everyday tool-watch buy; the Omega Railmaster is the more technically certified and finely executed option. Hamilton’s H70555533 costs $795 on Hamilton’s US site and provides sapphire crystal, 100 m water resistance, an 80-hour automatic movement and a Nivachron balance spring. The 2025 Railmaster returns as a 38 mm stainless-steel watch with a METAS-certified Master Chronometer movement rated to resist magnetic fields up to 15,000 gauss. That specification, along with Omega’s finishing and ownership experience, explains the large premium. The exact current US Railmaster MSRP is not stated in the available official release, so the title’s “$7K” should be treated as rounded positioning rather than a confirmed sticker price.
Which watch is the better everyday choice?
Choose the Hamilton when you want practical field-watch capability at a restrained price. Choose the Railmaster when certified magnetic resistance, chronometer testing, case and bracelet finishing, and Omega ownership justify spending several thousand dollars more.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The watches also serve different wrist-proportion preferences. The cited Hamilton reference is a broad 42 mm design with a 53 mm lug-to-lug span, while the current Railmaster is 38 mm. Hamilton also sells a 38 mm Khaki Field Auto, making that smaller model the more direct ergonomic comparison.
How do their specifications compare?
| Specification | Hamilton Khaki Field Auto H70555533 | Omega Railmaster 38 mm |
|---|---|---|
| Current source-backed price | $795 on Hamilton’s US listing | Exact current US MSRP is not stated in the cited 2025 release; “$7K” is rounded framing |
| Case | 42 mm diameter, 11 mm thick, 53 mm lug-to-lug, 22 mm lugs | 38 mm stainless steel |
| Movement | Hamilton H-10 automatic | Omega Co-Axial Master Chronometer Calibre 8806; beige small-seconds version uses Calibre 8804 |
| Power reserve | 80 hours | Not stated in the cited Railmaster release |
| Crystal | Sapphire | Not stated in the cited Railmaster release |
| Water resistance | 100 m / 10 bar | Numerical rating not stated in the cited release |
| Magnetic protection | Nivachron balance spring, which Hamilton says reduces effects from magnetic fields, temperature and shocks | METAS-certified resistance to magnetic fields up to 15,000 gauss |
| Dial and strap options | Black dial on leather for H70555533; 38 mm and 42 mm variants are available | Grey gradient dial on black leather or steel; beige gradient small-seconds dial on golden-brown Novonappa leather or steel |
What does the Hamilton Khaki Field Auto offer for $795?
The H70555533 is a straightforward field watch built around Hamilton’s H-10 automatic caliber. Its 80-hour power reserve can carry the watch through a full weekend off the wrist before it stops, assuming it was sufficiently wound. Sapphire crystal protects the dial, and the 100 m rating gives it a useful margin for ordinary daily exposure to water.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Hamilton specifies a Nivachron balance spring. This is an everyday anti-magnetic measure rather than a published gauss rating: it is intended to reduce the effects of magnetic fields, temperature changes and shocks on the regulating system. The watch also uses Super-LumiNova for low-light legibility.
The 42 mm case has a 22 mm lug width, so replacement straps must match that measurement. Hamilton’s 38 mm H70455133 uses the same H-10, 80-hour, sapphire and 100 m formula but is listed with a 47 mm lug-to-lug span and 20 mm lugs. That smaller case is worth considering if the 42 mm model extends too far across your wrist.
What does the 2025 Omega Railmaster add?
Omega’s 15 May 2025 release describes two 38 mm stainless-steel Railmasters. The grey-dial version uses Calibre 8806. A beige gradient version adds a small-seconds display and uses Calibre 8804. Both use polished and brushed case surfaces; the steel bracelet has redesigned links and an easy comfort adjustment.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The defining upgrade is the Master Chronometer certification. Omega says the movements are certified by the Swiss Federal Institute of Metrology (METAS) and can withstand magnetic fields up to 15,000 gauss. Omega positions that as 15 times the resistance of the original 1957 Railmaster, whose inner protective case was rated to 1,000 gauss.
Certification involves more than a marketing label. Omega’s stated process first checks the movement to a -4/+6 seconds-per-day standard, then subjects the complete watch and movement to eight METAS tests over 10 days, using a 0/+5 seconds-per-day criterion for the complete watch. Those are certification conditions, not a guarantee that every watch will show exactly one daily rate in normal ownership.
How much anti-magnetism does a daily watch need?
For ordinary office, travel and outdoor use, the Hamilton’s Nivachron-equipped movement already addresses magnetic-field exposure without the cost of a formal high-gauss certification. Stronger fields can occur near specialized industrial equipment, laboratory devices, loudspeakers, magnetic clasps and some electronic hardware, but the available data does not establish a gauss threshold for specific consumer environments.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsAlso popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The Railmaster’s 15,000-gauss figure is valuable when you want a documented, unusually high resistance level and the assurance of a complete-watch certification regime. It is less compelling if your priority is simply a durable mechanical watch for commuting, recreation and general daily wear.
Is the 38 mm or 42 mm size better?
Choose 42 mm for a larger field-watch presence
The H70555533’s 42 mm diameter, 53 mm lug-to-lug reach and 22 mm strap width create a broad wrist footprint. It suits readers who prefer a prominent, traditional modern field-watch look and do not mind a longer lug span.
Choose 38 mm for compact proportions
The 38 mm Hamilton reduces the lug-to-lug measurement to 47 mm and the strap width to 20 mm. The 38 mm Railmaster occupies the same nominal diameter category, although its exact lug geometry and thickness should be confirmed with the retailer for the specific reference.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What does the price premium actually buy?
Hamilton already covers the practical fundamentals: sapphire, 100 m water resistance, a long 80-hour reserve and a modern anti-magnetic balance spring. The Railmaster’s documented additions are its Co-Axial architecture, METAS certification, 15,000-gauss resistance, more elaborate case and bracelet execution, and Omega’s luxury-brand positioning.
Because the cited Railmaster release does not publish a current US MSRP, check the exact regional price and whether the quoted configuration is on leather or steel before treating the difference as precisely $7,000. Strap and bracelet versions can carry different prices, and a boutique or authorized dealer should confirm the reference and current currency.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which watch should you buy?
- Buy the 42 mm Hamilton Khaki Field Auto if value, 100 m water resistance, an 80-hour reserve and a rugged field-watch format matter most.
- Buy the 38 mm Hamilton Khaki Field Auto if you want the same basic movement and durability package in a shorter, narrower case.
- Buy the Omega Railmaster if METAS certification, 15,000-gauss resistance, premium finishing and Omega ownership are worth the substantial premium.
The closest like-for-like size comparison is the 38 mm Hamilton against the 38 mm Railmaster. The 42 mm Hamilton is a different visual and ergonomic choice, not simply a cheaper substitute for the smaller Omega.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Frequently Asked Questions
How should I verify the Railmaster’s actual price before buying?
Ask an Omega boutique or authorized dealer for the exact reference, dial, strap or bracelet configuration, currency and date of the quote. The rounded $7K figure should not be treated as a universal current retail price.
Can I fit a 22 mm replacement strap to every Khaki Field Auto?
No. Strap width follows the specific reference. The cited 42 mm H70555533 uses 22 mm lugs, while the 38 mm H70455133 is listed with 20 mm lugs, so confirm the reference before ordering.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →What is the difference between a movement test and Master Chronometer certification?
A movement-only rate is checked before the complete watch enters the METAS process. Omega’s stated certification then evaluates the assembled watch and movement across eight tests over 10 days, including magnetic exposure and a complete-watch accuracy criterion.
Which dial versions are available on the returning Railmaster?
The 2025 line includes a grey gradient dial paired with Calibre 8806 and a beige gradient dial with a small-seconds display powered by Calibre 8804. Each is described with leather and steel bracelet configurations.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

