Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
WatchRanker
Search
For vendors
health tracking

Luna Ring 2.0: A Subscription-Free Oura Alternative With a Major U.S. Hurdle

Luna Ring 2.0’s no-subscription pitch challenges Oura’s recurring fee, but its U.S. legal barrier and unverified international support make “going global” more complicated.

By WatchRanker Team 8 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Luna Ring 2.0 is marketed as a $329 smart ring with no mandatory subscription, while Oura charges U.S. members $69.99 a year after the first month. That makes Luna’s pricing a pointed challenge to Oura—but it is not a straightforward global alternative: Oura says Luna’s maker agreed not to import or sell the ring in the United States for the life of the patents at issue. Outside that market, buyers still need to verify local shipping, warranty, returns and app support before treating an online listing as a supported purchase.

What Luna Ring 2.0 is—and what “subscription-free” means

Luna’s official store uses both “Luna Smart Ring Gen 2” and “Luna Ring 2.0” for its product listings. The available information does not establish these names as separate ring models. Oura’s account of the patent dispute identifies Nexxbase as the maker; earlier launch material associated the Luna brand with Noise. The product page itself presents it as Luna Ring.

Luna lists the ring at $329, advertises sizes 6 through 14 and a complimentary sizing kit, and describes titanium construction, health sensors and its LifeOS AI health coach. These are vendor descriptions, not independent verification of measurement accuracy or coaching quality. Luna’s product FAQ says its app is free to use, and the Gen 2 page promotes a “zero subscription model.” That supports the narrower claim that Luna currently advertises no mandatory membership fee; it does not guarantee that every service, AI feature or future app function will remain free indefinitely. Luna Smart Ring Gen 2 product page · Luna Ring 2.0 with dock charger.

A free app is also not the same thing as a free service: the ring still has an upfront cost, and shipping, duties, returns and replacement accessories may add to it. The cited product listings do not establish a complete set of supported-country terms, operating-system requirements, data-export options, or the long-term pricing policy for LifeOS.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Is Luna really going global?

“Global” can mean that a website is visible internationally, that checkout accepts an order, or that a product is lawfully sold with practical local support. Those are different thresholds. The available product information does not establish a reliable country-by-country Luna availability list, so buyers should not assume that an accessible storefront means supported local sales.

The United States is a particularly important exception. Oura says Nexxbase submitted a consent order to the U.S. International Trade Commission and agreed not to import or sell Luna Ring in the country for the life of the asserted patents; Oura says the restriction includes existing inventory. This is Oura’s account of the legal outcome, and U.S. buyers should not treat an overseas listing or a checkout that appears to work as confirmation of lawful, supported U.S. availability. Oura’s ITC patent-action update.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

For buyers elsewhere, check the actual destination terms before paying. Ask whether the seller ships to your country, who handles customs and taxes, where returns go, whether the warranty applies locally, how a replacement charger can be obtained, and whether the app and account work in your region. The Luna pages cited here do not establish those answers for every country.

Oura publishes a supported-country list and notes that products, membership and warranty support can depend on the purchase and use region. Some Oura features also vary by country for legal or regulatory reasons. That is a useful reminder that even a mature product’s feature set may not travel unchanged; it is not evidence that Luna has equivalent regional support. Oura supported countries · Oura feature availability.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What the subscription difference costs

Oura’s U.S. membership is $5.99 per month or $69.99 per year, with one complimentary month for new members. The table below applies the annual rate after that included month; the three- and five-year figures are simple multiplication, not forecasts. They exclude taxes, possible price changes and replacement hardware. Regional membership rates differ. Oura Membership terms.

Ownership period Oura membership at current U.S. annual rate Luna listed hardware price
1 year $69.99 after the complimentary month $329 listed price
3 years $209.97, calculated at $69.99 per year $329 listed price
5 years $349.95, calculated at $69.99 per year $329 listed price

Luna’s $329 listing is a hardware price, not proof that total ownership will cost exactly $329 in every destination: delivery, customs, service and replacement costs depend on location. Nor does the arithmetic show that Luna is the better value if its app, support or measurement performance does not meet a buyer’s needs.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Membership matters differently across Oura generations. Oura says Gen3 and newer rings need membership for the full set of insights and personalized guidance; without membership, functionality is limited. Gen2 is an exception and does not require membership, although newer features may not work on that hardware. Oura says personal data can still be downloaded after cancellation, while API access requires an active membership. This is not equivalent to saying Oura deletes all data when a member stops paying. Oura functionality FAQs · Oura Membership terms.

What can be compared about the products

On the available evidence, the clearest comparison is about pricing and stated subscription policy—not a verified head-to-head hardware or accuracy test. A feature list is not a substitute for independent validation, and a larger count of advertised metrics would not by itself show that readings are more reliable.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Area Luna Ring 2.0 / Gen 2 Oura
Price and recurring fee $329 listed price; Luna advertises a zero-subscription model. Luna product page. U.S. membership is $5.99 monthly or $69.99 annually after one complimentary month for new members; regional rates differ. Oura Membership.
Hardware and sensors Luna advertises titanium construction and health sensors; detailed independent comparative measurements are not stated on the cited product page. Current product and availability vary by model, finish, size and region; a directly comparable specification set is not stated in the cited purchase guidance. Oura purchase information.
Sleep, readiness and other insights Luna markets sleep and wellness tracking and LifeOS coaching; independent validation of equivalence to Oura is not established by the cited pages. Luna product page. Oura describes detailed insights and guidance as membership features on Gen3 and newer rings. Oura functionality FAQs.
Data access Export, API access, retention after account closure and cloud dependence are not stated in the cited Luna pages. Oura says personal data can be downloaded after membership cancellation; API access requires active membership. Oura Membership.
Availability and support A complete supported-country list and destination-specific warranty and return terms are not established by the cited product pages; Oura reports a U.S. restriction for Luna. Oura ITC update. Oura lists supported countries and warns that availability and warranty can depend on region. Supported countries.

Before choosing any smart ring, treat its readings as consumer wellness information unless a specific medical use is supported by appropriate evidence and authorization. Neither a ring’s wellness score nor a marketing claim should be taken as a diagnosis or a substitute for clinical care. Fit also matters: a loose or uncomfortable ring, changes in finger swelling, wearing habits and charging gaps can affect the usefulness of collected trends.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Why Oura’s subscription is both a weakness and a business advantage

Oura’s model joins hardware sales to recurring membership revenue and a software layer that interprets measurements, presents long-term trends and connects with services. That continuing revenue can support ongoing analysis, cloud services, integrations and software development. From the buyer’s perspective, however, paying for the ring and then paying again to unlock its richest insights can make the product feel expensive over time.

Luna’s counter-position is easy to understand: pay for the hardware once and avoid a mandatory monthly or annual membership. If its app continues to provide useful insights without recurring payment, that can appeal to subscription-averse buyers and make the cost easier to plan. But a free-to-use promise does not reveal how the company funds ongoing app development, cloud storage, customer support or AI inference, and the cited pages do not establish a permanent feature guarantee.

A subscription-free entrant can pressure Oura even without replacing it. It may persuade some shoppers never to enter Oura’s ecosystem, give existing owners an alternative at replacement time, and encourage Oura to make its recurring software value more distinctive. Yet Luna would still need dependable supply, support, software maintenance, buyer trust and lawful access to major markets. The evidence supports competitive pressure as a possibility, not a claim that Luna has already demonstrated it can destroy Oura’s business model.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which ring should different buyers consider?

Buyer priority Option to investigate Why—and what to verify
No mandatory recurring fee Luna, where officially sold; also RingConn or Ultrahuman Luna advertises no mandatory subscription, but local availability and support need confirmation. RingConn and Ultrahuman are positioned as subscription-free alternatives in the supplied product information, but current model, pricing, patent status and country availability should be checked directly. RingConn official store · Ultrahuman Ring.
More established software and ecosystem Oura Consider it if its insights and service ecosystem justify the U.S. annual membership for you; check which features operate in your country. Oura feature availability.
Already uses Samsung Galaxy devices Samsung Galaxy Ring Samsung’s official product page is the place to verify current price, compatibility and regional terms. Its value may depend on how much of Samsung Health you already use. Samsung Galaxy Ring.
Wants performance-oriented coaching Ultrahuman Check the current model, local sales and legal status before purchase; market access and product-line details have been fluid. Ultrahuman Ring.
Cannot risk uncertain U.S. availability Do not assume Luna is a supported U.S. purchase Oura reports that Nexxbase agreed not to import or sell Luna in the U.S. for the life of the asserted patents. Compare products with official U.S. availability instead. Oura ITC update.

For a buyer choosing between Luna and Oura in a country where Luna is offered, the practical decision is not simply “free versus paid.” It is whether Luna’s local support, app depth and data handling are good enough for the buyer’s needs, compared with Oura’s more developed membership ecosystem and recurring cost. For either ring, check sizing guidance before ordering: Oura notes its ring sizes differ from standard U.S. ring sizing and do not include half sizes. Oura purchase and sizing information.

What to verify before placing an order

  • Confirm that the seller officially serves your country, and that the sale and import are lawful there.
  • Read the destination-specific warranty, return, shipping, tax and customs terms; an international shipment can make returns or repair materially harder.
  • Check phone and operating-system compatibility, app availability, and whether core features depend on an account or cloud connection.
  • Look for clear terms covering data export, retention, deletion, third-party sharing and any limits on AI coaching.
  • Use the manufacturer’s sizing kit or sizing instructions rather than assuming ordinary ring sizes translate directly; wear comfort and consistent fit affect day-to-day use.
  • Separate the vendor’s claims about materials, sensors and coaching from independent evidence about accuracy. Do not buy on a promise of clinical-grade performance unless that specific claim is substantiated.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Journal

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.