On paper, the Omega Seamaster Diver 300M is the larger watch and the one with the higher stated water resistance: 42 mm and 300 m, against 41 mm and 200 m for the TUDOR Black Bay 41 reference M7941A1A0NU-0002. The two diverge further on movement, dial character and strap options. Comparing them only makes sense reference by reference, because “Black Bay” is a broad TUDOR family rather than one specification sheet.
Which references are being compared
This comparison covers two specific models, not two families:
- Omega Seamaster Diver 300M: the stainless-steel 42 mm range that OMEGA announced on 21 November 2024. The announced configurations come with a mesh bracelet or a rubber strap.
- TUDOR Black Bay 41, reference M7941A1A0NU-0002: a 41 mm steel case on a black rubber strap, as shown on TUDOR’s product page for that reference.
TUDOR’s 2024 Black Bay press kit also documents a wider Black Bay 41 configuration family with steel bracelet choices. Those bracelet versions are not the reference used for the specifications below, so check the exact reference before comparing prices or fit. Both brands revise catalogs, so confirm that these references are still current with the brand or an authorised dealer.
The key differences at a glance
| Axis | Omega Seamaster Diver 300M (2024 range) | TUDOR Black Bay 41, M7941A1A0NU-0002 |
|---|---|---|
| Case diameter | 42 mm | 41 mm |
| Case thickness | Not stated in OMEGA’s 2024 announcement | 13.6 mm (TUDOR product page) |
| Stated water resistance | 300 m, per the Diver 300M designation | 200 m (660 ft), per TUDOR product page |
| Movement | Co-Axial Master Chronometer calibre 8806 (OMEGA 2024 announcement) | Manufacture calibre MT5602-U, COSC and METAS certified (TUDOR product page) |
| Stated power reserve | Not stated in OMEGA’s 2024 announcement | 70 hours (TUDOR product page) |
| Dial and hands | Wave-pattern dial and skeletonized hands | Black domed dial with applied markers; snowflake hands, a signature Black Bay cue described in TUDOR’s 2024 materials |
| Crystal | Domed sapphire crystal across the 42 mm announced choices | Not stated for this reference in the sources reviewed |
| Special feature | Helium escape valve at 10 o’clock | Not stated in the sources reviewed |
| Strap or bracelet | Mesh bracelet or rubber strap | Rubber strap with T-fit clasp for this reference; the 2024 Black Bay 41 family also offers three-link or five-link steel bracelets |
| Current price | Not established in the sources reviewed | Not comparable from the evidence; TUDOR prices are localised and change over time |
Sources: OMEGA press announcement of 21 November 2024; TUDOR product page for M7941A1A0NU-0002; TUDOR 2024 Black Bay press kit.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors#1 Best Overall
- Omega Seamaster Automatic Chronometer Black Dial Men's Watch 210.30.42.20.01.001
Size and wearing fit
The Seamaster is 1 mm wider than the Black Bay 41 in diameter. That is a modest difference, but it is the one most likely to be felt on a smaller wrist. The sources reviewed for this comparison do not give the Omega’s thickness, lug-to-lug length or wrist-fit measurements, so diameter alone cannot settle comfort. The Black Bay’s 13.6 mm thickness is documented; the Omega’s is not. Try both on the wrist, or check a dealer’s published specifications for the exact reference, before deciding.
Water resistance and what the rating means
The Diver 300M designation carries a 300 m rating, and TUDOR lists the Black Bay 41 reference at 200 m, or 660 ft. Both are manufacturer ratings for the case under standard test conditions. They are not a measure of how a watch will perform after years of wear, and they do not make either watch a substitute for dive-appropriate equipment or training. If you dive, follow the manufacturer’s guidance on servicing and pressure testing, and use a qualified dive professional for depth decisions.
Rank #2
- Model 212.30.44.52.01.001
Movement, certification and power reserve
This is the most technical difference between the two references.
Omega calibre 8806
OMEGA identifies the Seamaster Diver 300M movement as calibre 8806, which it describes as a Co-Axial Master Chronometer. The 2024 announcement does not state a power reserve for this calibre, so this comparison cannot put a number against the Omega’s running time.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- Omega Seamaster Automatic Black Dial Men's Watch 210.32.42.20.01.001
TUDOR calibre MT5602-U
The Black Bay 41 reference uses TUDOR’s manufacture calibre MT5602-U. TUDOR states a 70-hour power reserve and COSC and METAS certification for the reference. TUDOR’s 2024 press kit describes METAS certification as covering the main functional characteristics of a watch. In TUDOR’s words, it “covers the main functional characteristics of a watch including precision, resistance to magnetic fields, waterproofness and power reserve.”
Because the two brands publish different certification details and different test descriptions, they cannot be ranked against each other on accuracy or magnetic resistance from these sources alone. Each brand’s claims stand on their own. Keep that in mind when a retailer or forum post declares one movement the clear winner.
Rank #4
- Model 210.90.42.20.01.001
Design and visual character
OMEGA’s announcement emphasises the Diver 300M’s wave-pattern dial, skeletonized hands and helium escape valve at 10 o’clock. It also highlights the domed sapphire crystal, which OMEGA describes in these words: “Most notably, these 42 mm choices feature the same domed sapphire crystal, giving each watch a vintage aesthetic.” The result is a sporty tool watch with a textured dial and an open, skeletonised hour and minute hand.
The Black Bay 41 reference has a black domed dial with applied markers and snowflake hands, which TUDOR presents as part of the Black Bay’s heritage styling. The two are visually distinct. Which one looks better is a matter of taste, and it depends on the exact dial and bezel finish of each reference, which vary across each family.
Recommended Free Tools
Straps, bracelets and clasps
Strap options differ in both brands’ 2024 announcements:
- Omega: the announced Diver 300M range comes on a mesh bracelet or a rubber strap.
- TUDOR, M7941A1A0NU-0002: a black rubber strap with a T-fit clasp.
- TUDOR, Black Bay 41 family: the 2024 press kit lists three-link or five-link steel bracelets with T-fit rapid adjustment, which are separate configurations from the rubber-strap reference.
If a steel bracelet matters to you, the Black Bay comparison changes. Compare the bracelet configuration you intend to buy, not the rubber-strap reference used in the specification table.
Price and availability
This comparison does not establish a current price for either watch. TUDOR’s product page is localised to a market, and its suggested retail price can change, so the Black Bay’s price depends on the country and configuration you check. The sources reviewed do not provide a current Omega price. Check the price, duties and warranty terms in your own region with an authorised retailer or the brand’s local site, and confirm the exact reference, strap and bracelet before you compare figures.
How to choose between them
- Choose the Seamaster Diver 300M if you want the higher stated water resistance, the wave-dial and skeletonised-hand look, or a mesh bracelet option.
- Choose the Black Bay 41 if you prefer the smaller 41 mm case, want TUDOR’s snowflake-hand heritage design, or want a steel bracelet option in the Black Bay 41 family.
- Test fit first if your wrist is small, because the sources do not give the Omega’s thickness or lug-to-lug length.
- Compare exact configurations before comparing prices, since bracelet, strap and region change the cost.
What the available evidence does not settle
This is a comparison of published specifications, not a hands-on review. Neither source set establishes how either watch wears over time, how accurately it runs in daily use, or how the finishing compares when examined closely. The OMEGA material is a 2024 launch announcement, and the TUDOR references are cited from its product page and 2024 press kit. Treat them as the brands’ own descriptions, and check current catalogs and warranty terms before buying.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




