Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteGrand Seiko’s Spring Drive watches connect a real place of manufacture—the Shinshu Watch Studio in Shiojiri, Nagano—with dials inspired by nearby landscapes. Lake Suwa is the clearest recurring reference; the Kirigamine Highlands and other Nagano settings appear in separate collection descriptions. They are useful ways to read the watches, but Grand Seiko has not presented them as one official, fixed trio.
What Spring Drive is—and where it is made
Spring Drive is powered by a mainspring, like a mechanical watch, but its rate is controlled electronically. Grand Seiko’s Tri-Synchro Regulator uses a quartz oscillator and integrated circuit to regulate the movement, combining mechanical, electrical and electromagnetic energy. It is not battery-powered quartz: the mainspring supplies the driving energy.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Grand Seiko Lake Suwa Omiwatari Elegance Watch SBGY007 | $8,750.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
SEIKO SRPB41 Automatic Watch for Men - Presage Cocktail Time - Patterned Blue Dial with Date... | $399.00 | Buy on Amazon |
One visible result is the seconds hand’s continuous, silent glide. Grand Seiko describes this motion as expressing “the natural flow of time,” in contrast with the ticking of quartz or the beat of a traditional mechanical watch. Grand Seiko’s Spring Drive overview also places Spring Drive watch production at the Shinshu Watch Studio in Shiojiri, Nagano Prefecture. The landscape connection therefore has a manufacturing anchor as well as a design one.
How Spring Drive developed
Grand Seiko says development of the 9R Spring Drive took more than 20 years. Its first 9R movement debuted in 2004, around 27 years after the idea was conceived, according to the brand’s 20th-anniversary history. The first automatic 9R65 introduced automatic winding, a three-day power reserve and manufacturer-rated accuracy of ±15 seconds per month.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Three-fold clasp with push button release
- Dual-curved sapphire crystal
- Power reserve display on the back
- Power resrve Approx. 72 hours(3 days)
Grand Seiko says the bridge and gear-train layout visible through the movement’s caseback was shaped with the Hotaka Mountains, seen from the studio, in mind. That is a reference in movement architecture—not another dial in a set of landscape-themed watches.
The later 9RA5 and 9RA2 calibers extended the power reserve. Grand Seiko says the 9RA5 launched in 2020 and the 9RA2 followed in 2021; both offer approximately 120 hours of reserve and accuracy of ±10 seconds per month. The 9RA2 places its power-reserve indicator on the caseback. These figures are manufacturer specifications, not independent comparative test results. Grand Seiko’s Spring Drive movement information provides the brand’s technical account.
Lake Suwa: two watches, two times of day
Lake Suwa lies southeast of the Shinshu Watch Studio, and Grand Seiko has used it as a direct dial inspiration in more than one way. The SLGA021 evokes the lake before dawn, when a breeze stirs the water. Its blue, textured surface suggests small waves, with the color shifting as light falls across it. The SLGA021 model page describes that interpretation.
The SLGB007 takes the lake into the night. Its warm-black, radially textured dial represents Lake Suwa after dark and the reflection of moonlight. The current product page lists caliber 9RB2, approximately 72 hours of power reserve and annual accuracy of ±20 seconds. Those are Grand Seiko’s specifications for this model, not a performance comparison with other watches. The SLGB007 product page gives the model’s design and technical details.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The contrast makes the place-led approach especially clear: one lake can inspire different dial colors and textures when the represented light and time of day change.
Rank #2
- STUNNING BLUE DIAL: this automatic men's watch features a deep blue, pressed pattern and gloss finish surrounded by a stainless steel watch case
- AUTOMATIC: these self-winding, automatic men's watches are powered by your movement, with a power reserve of 41 hours
- STAINLESS STEEL: features a durable stainless steel watch case and bracelet with see through caseback
- WATER-RESISTANT: these men's wrist watches are water-resistant down to 50 meters
- 4R35 CALIBER: equipped with the reliable caliber 4R35 automatic movement, this accurate men's watch keeps precise time
Kirigamine and other Nagano landscapes
Grand Seiko’s collection material describes a pale-blue, textured dial inspired by “the ice forests in the Kirigamine Highlands.” That supports the landscape connection, but the available collection description does not securely identify the watch by reference number. The motif should therefore be understood as a documented design description, not confidently assigned to a specific model without a model-specific official page. Grand Seiko’s collection material contains the Kirigamine reference.
Other settings appear in the brand’s June 2026 Evolution 9 collection announcement, which names white birch forest and Atera Valley designs alongside Lake Suwa inspirations. Grand Seiko says the latest Spring Drive models in that collection use caliber 9RB2, with annual accuracy of ±20 seconds and 72 hours of running autonomy. The announcement reported availability beginning in September 2026; availability may differ by market, so consult the local product listing. The June 2026 collection announcement provides the brand’s descriptions and specifications.
How to compare the landscape-inspired Spring Drives
Start with the scene the dial represents, then compare the movement and practical specifications on the individual product page. The figures below are manufacturer-published; they describe different calibers and models and should not be treated as a controlled, like-for-like test.
| Watch or reference | Landscape or light | Movement and stated performance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| SLGA021 | Lake Suwa before dawn, stirred by a breeze | Not stated in the cited model description | Grand Seiko model page |
| SLGB007 | Lake Suwa at night; reflected moonlight | Caliber 9RB2; approximately 72 hours’ reserve; ±20 seconds per year | Grand Seiko product page |
| Evolution 9 models announced in June 2026 | Lake Suwa, white birch forest and Atera Valley designs | Caliber 9RB2; 72 hours’ running autonomy; ±20 seconds per year | Grand Seiko announcement |
| Kirigamine-inspired dial | Ice forests in the Kirigamine Highlands | Not stated in the cited collection description | Grand Seiko collection material |
Case material, dimensions, water resistance and current availability are model-specific. Check the live product page for those details before deciding between watches; the landscape reference alone does not establish a shared case or specification set.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




