Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The Grand Seiko SBGA231G is a substantial titanium Spring Drive diver: 44.2 mm across, 51.0 mm lug-to-lug and 14.0 mm thick. Its appeal is the combination of a lightweight high-intensity titanium case and bracelet, polished surfaces, 200 m diver’s water resistance and the 9R65 Spring Drive movement. Its dimensions make wrist fit an important consideration, while the polished finish may be less appealing to buyers who prefer visible wear to stay discreet.
What the SBGA231G is
Grand Seiko lists the SBGA231 as part of its Sport Collection and specifies a high-intensity titanium case and band. It is not a compact or low-profile diver: its case measures 44.2 mm in diameter, 51.0 mm from lug to lug and 14.0 mm thick. The stated weight is 137 g. Those figures make wrist shape and bracelet fit as important to consider as the headline diameter.
The manufacturer’s specifications and features are listed on Grand Seiko’s SBGA231 page. The page also lists a 22 mm band width and a band perimeter of 196 mm; the latter is a specification, not a guarantee that the bracelet will fit every wrist without adjustment.
Case, dial and diver features
Titanium and polished surfaces
The case and band are high-intensity titanium. Fratello’s reviewer describes the SBGA231G as the titanium counterpart to the stainless-steel SBGA229G and favors the titanium version’s lighter feel and darker color. The reviewer also notes that the polished case surfaces can show scratches with use. These are the reviewer’s observations, not a claim about how a new watch will wear for every owner. Read the review at Fratello Watches.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
#1 Best Overall
- Featuring a Black Band, Silver-tone Case, Scratch Resistant Hardlex Crystal
- Box-shaped Hardlex crystal
- Second hand halt mechanism (Hacking)
Legibility and bezel
Grand Seiko specifies a sapphire crystal with an inner anti-reflective coating and LumiBrite on the hands and indices. The bezel rotates in one direction, and the product page says it can be removed for simple maintenance. A screw-down crown and screw case back are also listed.
Water resistance and clasp
The published rating is 200 m / 660 ft diver’s water resistance. The bracelet has an extension clasp with a folding lock, a diver-oriented feature intended to provide extension over a sleeve. The rating and construction are manufacturer specifications; they do not replace checking the condition of a particular pre-owned watch, including its crown, seals and service history.
Spring Drive caliber 9R65
The SBGA231 uses Grand Seiko’s caliber 9R65, a Spring Drive movement with automatic and manual winding. Grand Seiko describes the technology this way: “This diver’s watch is powered by Grand Seiko’s unique Spring Drive caliber, which combines the motive force of a mainspring with the high precision of a quartz watch.”
Rank #2
- STUNNING BLUE DIAL: this automatic men's watch features a deep blue, pressed pattern and gloss finish surrounded by a stainless steel watch case
- AUTOMATIC: these self-winding, automatic men's watches are powered by your movement, with a power reserve of 41 hours
- STAINLESS STEEL: features a durable stainless steel watch case and bracelet with see through caseback
- WATER-RESISTANT: these men's wrist watches are water-resistant down to 50 meters
- 4R35 CALIBER: equipped with the reliable caliber 4R35 automatic movement, this accurate men's watch keeps precise time
Grand Seiko states an approximate 72-hour power reserve and accuracy of ±15 seconds per month (±1 second per day). These are manufacturer-published figures, not an independent timing test of an individual watch. The page also specifies 30 jewels and magnetic resistance of 4,800 A/m.
How it compares with the steel SBGA229G
Fratello identifies the SBGA231G as the titanium counterpart to the stainless-steel SBGA229G, formerly designated SBGA029G. The choice is principally about material and preference rather than a documented difference in movement or diver functions in the available sources.
| Consideration | SBGA231G | SBGA229G |
|---|---|---|
| Case and band material | High-intensity titanium, according to Grand Seiko. | Stainless steel, as identified by Fratello. |
| Weight and color | Fratello’s reviewer favors titanium’s lighter feel and darker color. | Steel is the alternative if you prefer its material and appearance; a comparable weight is not stated in the cited sources. |
| Wear on polished surfaces | Fratello’s reviewer notes that polished surfaces can show scratches in use. | A directly comparable wear assessment is not stated in the cited sources. |
| Current local price | Not established; check the current price in your market. | Not established; check the current price in your market. |
Fratello’s review includes historical euro-price context, but it should not be treated as a current price for either model. Grand Seiko’s Singapore page displayed SGD 8,600 when retrieved; that is a regional listing and may change, so it is not a universal or current-price guarantee.
Quick Recap
What to check before buying
- Fit: Consider the 51.0 mm lug-to-lug length as well as the 44.2 mm diameter and 14.0 mm thickness. If possible, try it on and assess how the bracelet sits across your wrist.
- Bracelet adjustment: Ask how many links are included and whether the bracelet can be sized to your wrist. The listed 196 mm band perimeter does not establish the fit of a particular example after sizing.
- Condition: Inspect the polished case and bracelet for scratches, and check that the bezel, crown, clasp and bracelet operate as expected.
- Service provenance: For a pre-owned example, request available service records and have the watch’s water-resistance condition assessed before relying on its diver rating.
- Authenticity and seller: Verify the exact model reference, seller identity, included documentation and return terms. Grand Seiko’s product page provides a store-search path; confirm local availability directly.
- Accessories: The official 22 mm band-width figure can guide a search for straps or bands, but width alone does not confirm end-link, fit or bracelet compatibility. Check the exact attachment dimensions before ordering.
- Price: Compare current local offers for the specific model and condition. Do not use an old review price or a regional listing as a current market benchmark.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




