The Omega Speedmaster Pilot is the smaller watch by the published case diameters and emphasizes time-zone handling, magnetic resistance and a two-register chronograph. Zenith’s Pilot Big Date Flyback Boutique Edition is larger, with a prominent big date and a flyback chronograph that resets and restarts timing in one push. The choice comes down to fit and which functions you will actually use—not a universal winner.
Omega Speedmaster Pilot vs. Zenith Pilot Big Date Flyback at a glance
| Feature | Omega Speedmaster Pilot | Zenith Pilot Big Date Flyback |
|---|---|---|
| Case | 40.85 mm stainless steel, per Omega’s 2024 launch announcement. Omega launch announcement | 42.5 mm stainless steel for the Boutique Edition described in Zenith’s January 2024 release. Zenith press release |
| Dial and aviation styling | Matte black grained dial, paired cockpit-inspired subdials and an orange airplane tip on the central chronograph hand; Omega also describes luminous and anti-reflective details. | Textured dial, oversized luminous Arabic numerals and a large date display, with instrument-inspired details described by Zenith. |
| Chronograph | Automatic column-wheel chronograph with 60-minute and 12-hour counters. | Automatic chronograph with flyback: one push resets and restarts the timing. |
| Additional functions | Time-zone function and date; Omega lists magnetic resistance of 15,000 gauss. | Big date with a patented compliant mechanism; Zenith says the two date wheels advance and stabilize in less than 0.03 seconds. |
| Movement and power reserve | Omega Calibre 9900; stated 60-hour power reserve. Omega product page | El Primero 3652; power reserve not stated in the cited Zenith release. |
| Price context | Omega’s Japan product page showed ¥1,463,000 when reviewed; this is a regional listing, not a universal price. | No directly comparable same-market price is established here; Zenith’s regional pages vary by market and edition. |
These are manufacturer-published specifications, not independent test results. The Omega figures and design details are listed on its product page and 2024 launch announcement; the Zenith specifications refer specifically to the Boutique Edition in the cited January 2024 release.
Which watch is likely to suit your wrist?
On nominal diameter, the Omega is 1.65 mm smaller than the cited Zenith edition. That makes the Speedmaster the more compact starting point on paper, but diameter alone cannot predict comfort. Case shape, thickness, lug span, strap or bracelet, and your wrist all affect how a watch wears. The cited sources do not establish comparable measurements for those factors, so try both on if possible.
Visually, the Omega’s matte black dial and paired registers make the chronograph layout the focus. Zenith’s oversized numerals and conspicuous date give its dial a more immediately legible, instrument-like character, as described by the brand. Both use aviation cues, but they express them differently: Omega through the cockpit-inspired registers and orange airplane-tipped hand, Zenith through the large numerals, date and textured dial.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall#1 Best Overall
- From the Bulova Archive Series, The Lunar Pilot made space history on August 2, 1971--during the Apollo 15 mission, a moon pilot chronograph was worn on the moon.
- 6 Hand, Chronograph, High Performance Quartz
- Silver-Tone Stainless Steel
- Sapphire Crystal
- 50M Water Resistant and 3 Year Limited Warranty
What the chronograph functions mean in practice
Omega: elapsed-time counters and time-zone handling
Omega specifies 60-minute and 12-hour chronograph counters, plus a time-zone function and date. Its cited specifications do not identify this model as a flyback chronograph. Choose it if those listed functions and its two-register layout match how you expect to use the watch.
Zenith: flyback timing and a prominent date
With a flyback chronograph, one button press returns the running chronograph to zero and immediately starts a new timing interval. That makes consecutive measurements more convenient than stopping, resetting and restarting separately. Zenith describes the function as originally intended to simplify operation for aviators wearing thick gloves; that is the brand’s historical description, not a recommendation to use the watch as a navigation instrument. Zenith’s explanation of the flyback
Rank #2
- Stainless steel case
- Black dial
- Swiss-automatic movement
- Case diameter: 40mm
- Water resistant to 330 feet
The big date is the other clear functional distinction. Zenith says its patented compliant mechanism advances and stabilizes both date wheels in less than 0.03 seconds. That is a manufacturer-stated specification, not an independently measured result.
How their movements and specifications compare
Omega Calibre 9900
Omega lists an automatic Calibre 9900 with a 60-hour power reserve, METAS Master Chronometer certification and magnetic resistance of 15,000 gauss. These are manufacturer-listed attributes. Certification and a stated magnetic-resistance figure are meaningful specification differences, but they do not establish how a particular watch will perform in every wearer’s daily conditions.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Rank #3
- Model 310.32.42.50.01.001
Zenith El Primero 3652
Zenith names the automatic high-frequency chronograph calibre as the El Primero 3652. The cited release does not state a power-reserve figure for this model, so there is no supported reserve comparison to make against Omega’s 60 hours. The available specifications also do not provide independent accuracy measurements for either watch.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Price, availability and ownership considerations
Do not compare the Omega’s Japan-listed ¥1,463,000 directly with a Zenith price from another country or edition. Prices and stock are market- and time-specific, and a matched current comparison is not established here. Check both brands’ official regional pages or authorized dealers for the same market before deciding on price.
Rank #4
- Compatible With: Omega Speedmaster Professional Moonwatch 3570.50 (1861 Movement)
- Links are removable to adjust the size.Band Width 20mm
- Material: It is a high quality watch band made of top quality 316L stainless steel
- No logo or markings on the band.
- Product Features: Solid Link Design, Solid End Pieces, Double Deployment Clasp
No service-cost comparison or independent assessment of service access is established by the cited sources. For a purchase at this level, ask the local authorized retailer about warranty terms, servicing arrangements and expected turnaround before committing, especially if the two options are otherwise close.
Which one should you choose?
- Choose the Omega Speedmaster Pilot if its smaller published diameter, time-zone function, listed magnetic resistance and paired-register layout align with your priorities.
- Choose the Zenith Pilot Big Date Flyback if you want the larger, more prominent date display and expect to value one-push flyback timing.
- Try both on if fit is decisive: the published diameters are useful context, but do not settle comfort or wrist presence.
- Compare local quotes if price is decisive; the available regional prices do not support a same-market verdict.
Neither specification sheet establishes a universal winner. The more useful deciding questions are whether you prefer the Omega’s time-zone and magnetic-resistance specifications or Zenith’s big-date and flyback package, and which case feels right on your wrist.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




