If you want a panda-dial chronograph and have not yet picked a Citizen, the Seiko Prospex Speedtimer SSC813 is the easier watch to recommend. Its specifications are published in one manufacturer listing, so you can check the case, crystal, water resistance, and lug width before you buy. A Citizen Eco-Drive chronograph can be the better choice, but only once you name a specific reference. “Eco-Drive” is Citizen’s light-charging technology used across a family of watches, not a single model, so no blanket winner exists between the two brands.
Start with the reference, not the brand name
“Panda” describes a dial style, not a movement or case. “Eco-Drive” describes how Citizen’s watches are powered. Neither term fixes a full set of specifications. The Seiko side of this comparison is one reference, the SSC813. The Citizen side is a family of references, and the two Citizen sources used here cover different things: the CA0640-86L product page is one example model, and the B620 manual covers one caliber. Settle which Citizen you mean before comparing anything beyond the shared chronograph function.
The Seiko SSC813 in brief
Seiko’s listing for the Prospex Speedtimer SSC813 on its Middle East site gives these manufacturer figures: V192 solar caliber, precision of ±15 seconds per month, and approximately six months of operation from a full charge. The chronograph runs for up to 60 minutes in 1/5-second increments. The watch also has a 24-hour hand, small seconds, a date, a power-reserve indicator, and overcharge prevention. The stainless steel case measures 39.0 mm in diameter, 45.5 mm lug-to-lug, and 13.3 mm thick. The curved sapphire crystal has an inner anti-reflective coating, the water resistance is 10 bar, and the lug spacing is 20 mm. Seiko SSC813 official specifications These are manufacturer figures, not measurements from an independent lab.
Seiko’s October 2022 Speedtimer release describes the solar chronographs as drawing their design from the Speedtimer series of the 1960s and 1970s. That is Seiko’s own account of the design lineage. The same release says the V192 caliber powers all of the watches it covers, which include a 60-minute chronograph, a 24-hour sub-dial, and a power reserve indicator displayed at the touch of a button. Seiko Speedtimer release
#1 Best Overall
- Item shape: Round
- Power source type: Solar Powered
- Clasp type: Push Button Deployment Clasp
The Citizen side: which reference you mean matters
The Citizen CA0640-86L product information page describes an Eco-Drive watch that charges from light and needs no battery change. It lists a 60-minute chronograph in 1/5-second units, 24-hour and date displays, an insufficient-charge warning, and overcharge prevention. Citizen CA0640-86L product information That page covers one reference only. It does not establish the case size, crystal, water resistance, or power reserve of the CA0640-86L, so those points cannot be carried over to other Citizen models.
Citizen’s B620 manual is a separate document for one caliber. It says the rechargeable cell is charged by light, and states: “This watch has a rechargeable cell which is charged by exposing the dial to light, such as direct sunlight or fluorescent lamps.” It recommends direct sunlight for five to six hours at least once a month for optimal performance, and warns that frequent sleeve coverage may require supplemental charging. Its charge-time table varies by lighting conditions, so check that table in the manual rather than relying on a single figure. Citizen B620 manual Apply these B620 details only to a watch that actually uses that caliber.
Rank #2
- SEIKO Prospex
- Item shape: Round
- Power source type: Solar Powered
- Seiko Prospex
Side-by-side specifications
The table compares the Seiko SSC813 with the Citizen CA0640-86L, the one Citizen reference with a published product page used here. Where the Citizen source is silent, the cell says so.
| Decision point | Seiko SSC813 | Citizen CA0640-86L (cited example) | Practical takeaway |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power source | V192 solar caliber | Eco-Drive, charged by light, no battery change | Both are light-powered; compare reserve figures reference by reference. |
| Power reserve | About six months from full charge (Seiko figure) | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Do not assume equal reserves. |
| Chronograph | Up to 60 minutes, 1/5-second increments | 60 minutes, 1/5-second increments | Same stated capacity; this is not a performance comparison. |
| Time and calendar displays | 24-hour hand, small seconds, date, power-reserve indicator | 24-hour and date displays; power-reserve indicator not stated | Check the selected reference for a reserve display. |
| Charge management | Overcharge prevention | Insufficient-charge warning and overcharge prevention | The Citizen page lists more charge-state protection. |
| Precision | ±15 seconds per month (Seiko figure) | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Compare only with stated figures. |
| Case diameter | 39.0 mm | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Look up the exact Citizen reference. |
| Lug-to-lug | 45.5 mm | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Lug-to-lug length governs wrist fit. |
| Thickness | 13.3 mm | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Check thickness against your wrist and cuffs. |
| Crystal | Curved sapphire, inner anti-reflective coating | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Do not claim one crystal is better without model-specific data. |
| Water resistance | 10 bar | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Confirm the rating for your chosen reference. |
| Lug width | 20 mm | Not stated in the cited Citizen product information | Confirm before buying a strap. |
| Price and availability | Current price not established in the sources used here | Current price and availability not established in the sources used here | Check authorized retailers on the day you buy. |
Power and charging in practice
The Seiko’s six-month figure is the stated reserve after a full charge. It is not a head-to-head result against any Citizen. The Citizen B620 manual adds two operating limits that matter for daily use. First, the chronograph cannot be used while the watch is in low-power mode. Second, the chronograph stops after one hour of continuous operation. Those rules come from the B620 instructions, so treat them as caliber-specific until you confirm your Citizen uses the same movement.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Rank #3
- VS75 Quartz Movement: Powering the modern solar chronograph watch is Japan VS75 quartz movement, which is assembled in Japan, providing precise and accurate time keeping, with a precision rate of +2 to−2 seconds a day. And the life span lasts more than 10 years
- Special Design: This stainless steel watches features a 41 mm brushed and polished 316L stainless steel case with a panda textured dial and skeletonized hand. Additional complications include three sub-dials, date window and black ceramic dial for velocity measurement purpose
- Luminous Watch: Using Japan Luminous C3 material, the luminous hand and hour mark in green glowing can last for at least 5 hours in dark. Sapphire crystal glass with anti-reflective coating on inner surface. Waterproof design allows this diving watch to go to depths of 200 meters
- Premium Workmanship: Tactical frog vs75 watch with finest workmanship, striking outlook, screw down crown and fold over clasp with safety and fine tune function is a classic chronograph watch for collection. A must have for tactical frog watch and great choice for watch lovers
- Men's Watches: The striking chronograph watch has tremendous wrist presence. Wears exceptionally well for formal events thanks to its fashionable (yet modern) looks. Swap in a colored strap and you can rock this piece during casual and sporty occasions
The B620 manual also says the chronograph can indicate up to 59 minutes 59.8 seconds. That matches the 60-minute capacity described for both watches, but it does not show that the two chronographs behave identically in use.
Fit, crystal, and water resistance
The SSC813 gives buyers the most complete published fit and durability data of the two watches here. A 39.0 mm case with 45.5 mm lug-to-lug and 13.3 mm thickness is a concrete starting point for checking wrist fit. Measure your wrist and compare the lug-to-lug figure to the diameter of your wrist before you order. The curved sapphire crystal and 10 bar rating are manufacturer specifications. Treat 10 bar as a rating for splashes and light water exposure, not as a dive-grade watch.
Rank #4
- STAINLESS STEEL BRACELET for a durable and timeless accessory paired with a multi-row design that enhances the style of this analog watch
- BOX-SHAPED CRYSTAL adding a sophisticated touch and enhancing the smooth curves of the profile, creating a pleasing shape on the wrist
- MULTI-FUNCTION CHRONOGRAPH with precise timekeeping and a nod to automotive elegance
- WATER RESISTANT DESIGN ensures your wrist watch is ready for any adventure, rain or shine
- HIGH-CONTRAST SUBDIALS for superior visibility and a vintage appeal in this stylish analog watch
For a Citizen, you cannot yet make the same comparison. Look up the exact reference’s case diameter, lug-to-lug, thickness, crystal, and water resistance on the official product page. If you plan to change straps, the SSC813’s 20 mm lug spacing is the figure to check. Confirm the end-link shape, material, and exact fit before buying any strap.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Price and availability
No current price or availability evidence for the SSC813 or the CA0640-86L was collected for this comparison, so no value winner can be named. The only Seiko prices in the sources are from Seiko’s October 2022 Speedtimer release, which listed recommended retail prices of $700 for the SSC915 and $750 for the SSC911 and SSC913. Those are historical release prices for other models. They are not current prices and do not apply to the SSC813. Check current listings at authorized retailers before you buy.
Recommended Free Tools
Best Value
- SEIKO WATCH – Seiko SSB427 chronograph wristwatch.
- MOVEMENT – Quartz chronograph format.
- DIAL – Blue dial design.
- MODEL REFERENCE – SSB427 identifies the watch.
- WATCH DIAMETER – 41.5 mm.
Which one should you buy?
Choose the Seiko SSC813 if
- You have already decided you want a panda-dial chronograph and do not have a specific Citizen reference in mind.
- You want every key dimension, the crystal type, the water-resistance rating, and the lug spacing published in one official listing.
- You value a six-month full-charge reserve figure from the manufacturer for planning how often the watch will need light.
Choose a Citizen Eco-Drive chronograph if
- You have found a specific Citizen reference whose dial, case, material, or fit suits you better than the SSC813.
- You want the charge-state protection described on the CA0640-86L page, which includes an insufficient-charge warning.
- Your budget points to a Citizen after you confirm a current price for that exact reference.
Make the comparison fair
- Pick one Citizen reference by its exact model number, not by the Eco-Drive name.
- Open its official product page or caliber manual and confirm the caliber.
- Compare case diameter, lug-to-lug, thickness, crystal, water resistance, chronograph range, power reserve, strap or bracelet details, and warranty against the SSC813 figures above.
- Check the live price and availability from authorized retailers on the day you buy.
If you are set on a panda chronograph and have not chosen a Citizen, the SSC813 is the safer buy because you can verify its figures before you commit. If you already have a Citizen reference in hand, put it through the four steps above before deciding.
What this comparison cannot establish
The figures here are manufacturer specifications. No independent test, wrist-comfort assessment, long-term durability record, or accuracy measurement for either watch is available in the sources used. The same applies to market-share, consumer-preference, or failure-rate figures, which are absent. Any claim about which watch keeps better time, lasts longer, or feels better on the wrist needs evidence this comparison does not have.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




