The Grand Seiko SBGH255 and SBGH257 share the same published core specification: a 46.9 mm high-intensity titanium case, 50.8 mm lug-to-lug span, 17.0 mm thickness and Hi-Beat Caliber 9S85. The clearest documented distinction is edition status: Grand Seiko identifies the SBGH257 as a limited edition of 500 pieces, while the SBGH255 product page does not identify it as limited. Those dimensions make fit the central question, but specifications alone cannot establish how either watch wears.
What is the difference between the SBGH255 and SBGH257?
Grand Seiko’s regional product pages describe both as Hi-Beat 36000 Professional 600m diver’s watches. The SBGH257 page adds “Limited Edition” to the model name and states that production is limited to 500 pieces. The SBGH255 page does not state a limited production run; that is not proof that it will remain in production indefinitely.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Grand Seiko Stainless Steel 40mm White Birch Dial Series 9 Watch SLGH005 | $9,300.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Grand Seiko Lake Suwa Omiwatari Elegance Watch SBGY007 | $8,750.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| Specification | SBGH255 | SBGH257 |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer’s model name | Hi-Beat 36000 Professional 600m Diver’s | Hi-Beat 36000 Professional 600m Diver’s Limited Edition |
| Edition status | Not identified as limited on Grand Seiko’s product page | Limited edition of 500 pieces |
| Case material | High-intensity titanium | High-intensity titanium |
| Case dimensions | 46.9 mm diameter; 50.8 mm lug-to-lug; 17.0 mm thick | 46.9 mm diameter; 50.8 mm lug-to-lug; 17.0 mm thick |
| Movement | Caliber 9S85 | Caliber 9S85 |
| Power reserve | Approximately 55 hours | Approximately 55 hours |
| Mean daily rate | +5 to −3 seconds per day | +5 to −3 seconds per day |
| Normal-use accuracy listed by Grand Seiko | +8 to −1 seconds per day | +8 to −1 seconds per day |
| Additional details on cited page | Sapphire crystal; screw case back; unidirectional bezel; screw-down crown; reinforced magnetic resistance; LumiBrite on hands and indices | Same published core details; extension clasp with folding lock; listed weight 174 g |
Sources: Grand Seiko SBGH255 product page and Grand Seiko SBGH257 product page. The SBGH257 page is for Singapore and the SBGH255 page is for Malaysia; their regional pages are useful for specifications, not a basis for treating any displayed regional price as a universal current price.
Is the Grand Seiko 600m diver too large?
It is a large watch by its published measurements: 46.9 mm across, 50.8 mm from lug to lug and 17.0 mm thick. The lug-to-lug span and thickness matter alongside diameter because they influence how a case can sit across a wrist and beneath a cuff. Titanium describes the case material, but it does not make those dimensions smaller.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- See-through case back
- Date display
- Screw-down crown
- 40mm Diameter
- Weight 178.0 g
Whether that size is too large is a fit judgment, not something the specification sheet can settle. Wrist shape, strap or bracelet adjustment, preferred visual presence and the watch’s balance all matter. Grand Seiko lists the SBGH257 at 174 g; the cited SBGH255 page does not state a weight, so there is no supported weight comparison here. Try the exact reference on, ideally with its supplied bracelet or strap adjusted, before deciding based on the headline diameter alone.
What the Hi-Beat 36000 movement specifications mean
Both models use Grand Seiko Caliber 9S85, a self-winding movement that can also be wound manually. Grand Seiko specifies 36,000 vibrations per hour (5 Hz), 37 jewels and approximately 55 hours of power reserve. The stated reserve is the manufacturer’s approximate figure, not a guarantee of the runtime of an individual watch.
Grand Seiko gives two accuracy figures, which describe different contexts rather than conflicting promises. The mean daily rate is +5 to −3 seconds per day; the separate normal-use accuracy range is +8 to −1 seconds per day. On the product pages, the mean daily rate is based on testing the movement before it is cased, over 12 days in six fixed positions under controlled conditions. These are manufacturer specifications, not an independent measurement of an owner’s watch in daily wear. See Grand Seiko’s Caliber 9S85 specifications.
What Grand Seiko says about the 600-meter diver construction
Grand Seiko describes both references as built to withstand pressures encountered in saturation diving to 600 meters. The manufacturer also lists a unidirectional bezel, screw-down crown, reinforced magnetic resistance and LumiBrite on the hands and indices. The product descriptions say the grooved bezel is designed for grip with thick gloves, the dial uses pure iron intended to protect the movement from magnetism, and the bezel is made in four parts to facilitate disassembly and reassembly during servicing.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteRank #2
- Three-fold clasp with push button release
- Dual-curved sapphire crystal
- Power reserve display on the back
- Power resrve Approx. 72 hours(3 days)
These are the manufacturer’s design and capability claims, not evidence of independent depth testing or a substitute for checking a particular watch’s condition and service history. A published depth rating should not be treated as personal dive advice.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Review verdict: choose on fit first, edition status second
On the documented specifications, the SBGH255 and SBGH257 are close siblings rather than different-sized or differently powered alternatives. The SBGH257’s stated 500-piece limit is the clear distinction if limited-edition status matters to you. For a practical choice, compare the exact watch’s fit and condition; the SBGH257’s listed 174 g and extension clasp with folding lock are details stated on its product page, not evidence by themselves that it will feel better on your wrist.
This is a specification-based review, not a hands-on assessment: the published information does not establish wrist comfort, the feel of the controls, observed lume performance or an individual example’s timekeeping. The SBGH255 is documented on Grand Seiko’s Malaysia English product page; the SBGH257 is documented on its Singapore English product page.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




