The Omega Speedmaster Racing Master Chronometer is a 44.25 mm automatic chronograph built around calibre 9900. The steel black-dial reference is 329.30.44.51.01.001; the steel white-dial reference is 329.30.44.51.04.001. Both combine a date, tachymeter, 60-hour stated power reserve and 5 bar (50 m) water resistance. The case size is the central fit question; the white-dial listing also specifies a 50.00 mm length including lugs and 14.92 mm thickness.
This review assesses the published specifications and Omega’s certification claims, not independent hands-on performance. The two references share key movement and case specifications, but their dials and configurations are not interchangeable assumptions for every Speedmaster Racing variant.
Which Omega Speedmaster Racing references does this review cover?
The model family includes different dial and strap configurations. The clearest steel examples in Omega’s product listings are:
| Reference | Configuration | Published case measurements | Japan-listed price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 329.30.44.51.01.001 | Steel, black dial, steel bracelet | 44.25 mm diameter; other dimensions not stated on the cited product listing | ¥1,606,000, displayed by Omega Japan when accessed in 2026 |
| 329.30.44.51.04.001 | Steel, white dial, steel bracelet | 44.25 mm diameter; 14.92 mm thick; 50.00 mm long including lugs; 21 mm lug spacing | ¥1,606,000, displayed by Omega Japan when accessed in 2026 |
The price figures are Japan-market listings, not a global or enduring MSRP. Check the current listing and authorized-seller terms in your region before buying. Omega’s pages establish the specifications for these exact references; do not assume that a strap model or another dial variant has identical details. Omega Japan: 329.30.44.51.01.001; Omega Japan: 329.30.44.51.04.001.
#1 Best Overall
- Stainless steel case
- Black dial
- Swiss-automatic movement
- Case diameter: 40mm
- Water resistant to 330 feet
How large is the 44.25 mm case on the wrist?
At 44.25 mm across, this is a substantial chronograph. Diameter alone does not determine fit: the white-dial version’s 50.00 mm lug-including length is a useful additional measure, while its 14.92 mm thickness indicates how far the case rises from the wrist. Its 21 mm lug spacing describes the space between the lugs, not the width of the whole watch.
Those measurements can help you compare the watch with one you already wear, but they cannot guarantee how it will sit. Wrist shape and the chosen bracelet or strap affect the result. The cited black-dial page does not state the other case measurements, so the white-dial dimensions should not be silently applied to every family configuration.
Rank #2
- Rubber
- Rotating bezel, gmt
- Automatic-self-wind movement
- Case diameter: 40mm
- Water resistant to 330 feet
What do calibre 9900 and the chronograph provide?
Omega lists calibre 9900 in both cited steel references. It is an automatic chronograph movement with a column wheel and Co-Axial escapement, a silicon Si14 balance spring and two barrels. Omega gives its frequency as 4 Hz and its power reserve as 60 hours.
The listed display and functions include central hour and minute hands, central chronograph-seconds hand, small seconds, 12-hour and 60-minute counters, a date and a time-zone function. The black-dial model’s tachymeter is on a black ceramic bezel with a Liquidmetal scale, according to the retailer description; this design detail is corroboration rather than a substitute for Omega’s product specification. Watches of Switzerland product description.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
- Model 212.30.44.52.01.001
What Master Chronometer certification does—and does not—mean
Master Chronometer is a defined certification process, not a guarantee that every individual watch will deliver the same measured daily rate on every wearer’s wrist. Omega says the movement is first tested by an accredited independent Swiss laboratory to −4/+6 seconds per day. The complete watch and movement then undergo eight tests set by METAS, with a 0/+5 seconds-per-day criterion for the complete watch.
Omega describes the certification as eight tests over ten days and 283 steps, covering precision, magnetic resistance, power reserve and water resistance. It also states that Master Chronometer watches resist magnetic fields up to 15,000 gauss. These are Omega’s published descriptions of the certification and its criteria—not a reason to deliberately expose a watch to strong magnets or a promise about every specimen’s rate in daily use. Omega’s Master Chronometer certification explanation.
Rank #4
- Omega Speedmaster Chronograph Automatic Silver Dial Men's Watch 324.30.38.50.02.001
How much water resistance does it have?
Omega rates both cited references at 5 bar (50 m / 165 ft). That is the stated water-resistance rating; the figure by itself does not establish a diving rating or tell you which water activities are appropriate. Follow the current instructions for the specific watch and have its water resistance checked as recommended, particularly after service or work involving the case.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Model 310.32.42.50.01.001
What should buyers check before paying?
- Exact match: Confirm the full reference number, dial, bracelet or strap, and condition on the listing. The steel references discussed here are 329.30.44.51.01.001 and 329.30.44.51.04.001.
- Local price and availability: The cited ¥1,606,000 figure was displayed by Omega Japan when accessed in 2026. It does not establish pricing in another country or a current quote at a later date.
- Warranty and seller: Omega’s general manual describes a five-year international warranty for new watches purchased from July 1, 2018, subject to its terms. That manual covers another Omega model, so it is not a reference-specific warranty document. Check the warranty booklet and conditions for your country, purchase date and seller; verify authorized-seller status. Omega international warranty and user-manual information.
- Alternative straps: The family includes leather-strap configurations, but that does not prove an arbitrary replacement strap will fit. Confirm compatibility with the exact reference before ordering.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




