October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
WatchRanker
Search
For vendors
Blog

Garmin Forerunner 970 Alternatives: Lighter and Less Expensive Running Watches

The COROS PACE 4 Pro is the strongest cited option if you want a lighter, less expensive alternative to the Forerunner 970. Compare its trade-offs with Garmin’s Forerunner 570 and the lighter, lower-priced COROS PACE 4.
Estimate4–5 min Catalogued SpecialistWatchRanker Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you want a watch that is both lighter and less expensive than the Garmin Forerunner 970, the COROS PACE 4 Pro is the clearest match among the alternatives compared here: Tom’s Guide lists it at $449/£389 and 51 g, versus $749/£629 and 56 g for the 970. It is not a one-for-one replacement: Garmin has the edge in routable maps, training analysis and connected features. If you would rather stay with Garmin, consider the Forerunner 570; if price and low weight matter most, look at the standard COROS PACE 4.

How the alternatives compare

Prices below are the figures reported by the cited sources, not live retailer quotes. Garmin’s figures are U.S. launch suggested retail prices; COROS figures are Tom’s Guide’s listed prices in the U.S. and U.K. Weight and battery figures are as reported by the cited sources.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Watch Price cited Weight cited What to know
Garmin Forerunner 970 $749.99 U.S. launch MSRP (Garmin, 2025); $749/£629 in Tom’s Guide’s 2026 comparison 56 g Routable built-in maps, extensive training analysis, contactless payments and music services. Listed maximums: 21 hours in multiband GPS mode and up to 15 days in watch mode (Tom’s Guide, 2026).
COROS PACE 4 Pro $449/£389 (Tom’s Guide, 2026) 51 g Offline maps that are not routable; fewer smart features and less extensive training analysis than the Garmin. Listed maximums: 30 hours in multiband GPS mode and up to 21 days in watch mode (Tom’s Guide, 2026).
Garmin Forerunner 570 $549.99 U.S. launch MSRP (Garmin, 2025) Not stated in Garmin’s cited announcement Garmin option in 42 mm and 47 mm sizes. Garmin identifies full-color built-in mapping as a 970 feature beyond the 570 feature set.
COROS PACE 4 $249/£229 standard; $279/£249 aluminum (Tom’s Guide, 2026) 40 g Smaller 1.2-inch display than the Pro’s 1.47-inch screen; Tom’s Guide says the Pro’s software features are also available on this model.
Garmin Forerunner 965 Current price not stated in the reviewed sources Not stated in the reviewed sources Prior-generation Garmin to investigate only if you find a current price and confirm availability.

Which Forerunner 970 alternative fits your priorities?

Choose the COROS PACE 4 Pro for a lighter watch at a lower cited price

At 51 g, the PACE 4 Pro is 5 g lighter than the 56 g Forerunner 970, and its listed price is lower in both markets reported by Tom’s Guide. The reviewer also describes it as “lighter and slimmer despite having a bigger screen.” Those are the reviewer’s findings, not a manufacturer claim.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The trade-off is capability, not just brand. The PACE 4 Pro offers offline maps, but they are not routable like the 970’s built-in maps. Garmin also has the advantage in training analysis and connected functions, including contactless payment and streaming music. Pick the Pro when lower weight and price matter more than those specific Garmin features.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Choose the Forerunner 570 to stay in Garmin’s ecosystem

Garmin announced a U.S. suggested retail price of $549.99 for the Forerunner 570, compared with $749.99 for the 970 at launch. The 570 comes in 42 mm and 47 mm sizes. Garmin says the 970 adds full-color built-in mapping to the 570’s feature set; its announcement describes the 970’s maps as a way to help athletes stay on track.

That launch MSRP is not a current quote, and Garmin’s cited announcement does not state the 570’s weight. Check the current price and the weight of the exact size you are considering. This is the clearest route if you want a lower launch price without leaving Garmin, provided built-in maps are not essential.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Choose the standard COROS PACE 4 for the lowest cited price and weight

Tom’s Guide lists the standard PACE 4 at $249/£229 and 40 g, with an aluminum version listed at $279/£249. Its 1.2-inch display is smaller than the PACE 4 Pro’s 1.47-inch display, and the construction is less premium. The reviewer says the Pro’s software features are also available on the less expensive PACE 4, making it the option to examine if you want to reduce both cost and wrist weight and can accept the smaller screen and materials.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Consider the Forerunner 965 only after checking the deal

The Forerunner 965 may be worth considering as a previous-generation Garmin, but the cited sources do not establish its current price, stock or weight. Treat it as a candidate to verify, not a confirmed bargain: compare the actual price and availability where you live before choosing it over a newer model.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What to compare before you buy

Price and weight are useful first filters, but they do not tell you whether a watch suits your routes and training. Compare the exact size and configuration available to you, then check the features that affect your daily use.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
  • Maps: Decide whether you need routable maps or whether offline maps for route-following are enough. The PACE 4 Pro has offline maps, while the 970’s built-in maps are routable.
  • Training and recovery: If you rely on detailed training analysis, Garmin’s broader offering may matter more than a small reduction in weight or price.
  • Connected features: Check whether you use contactless payments or streaming music from your watch; these are advantages identified for the 970 over the PACE 4 Pro.
  • Battery claims: Maximum runtime varies with settings, including display behavior and GPS mode. Tom’s Guide lists the PACE 4 Pro at up to 30 hours of multiband GPS and 21 days in watch mode, and the Forerunner 970 at up to 21 hours and 15 days respectively. These are listed maximums, not a prediction of your own use.
  • Local price and stock: Prices, availability and regional configurations can change. The figures above are cited listings or launch MSRPs, not a live inventory check.

Sources

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More lots from the Journal

  1. Lot1How to Best Sell Your Watch: Choose the Right Channel for Your GoalBlogEstimate 7–9 min
  2. Lot2Spring-Bars and NATOs: A Practical Guide to Watch Straps, Buckles and BarsBlogEstimate 6–8 min
  3. Lot3A Philosophical Guide to Building the Perfect Watch CollectionBlogEstimate 6–8 min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.