Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →The Rolex Oyster Perpetual 36 (reference 126000) is the more convenient choice if you want automatic winding and a 100 m water-resistance rating. The Grand Seiko SBGW299 offers a manual-winding movement in a 44GS design, with a slightly larger case and published lug-to-lug and thickness measurements. Neither is an across-the-board winner: the deciding factors are your preferred winding routine, design and how each watch fits your wrist.
At a glance
| Specification | Rolex Oyster Perpetual 36, ref. 126000 | Grand Seiko SBGW299 |
|---|---|---|
| Movement and winding | Automatic calibre 3230 | Manual-winding calibre 9S64 |
| Case diameter | 36 mm | 36.5 mm |
| Lug-to-lug | Not stated on the cited Rolex product page | 42.7 mm |
| Thickness | Not stated on the cited Rolex product page | 11.6 mm |
| Power reserve | Approximately 70 hours | Approximately 72 hours |
| Water resistance | 100 m / 330 ft | 10 bar |
| Published accuracy | −2/+2 seconds per day after casing | Controlled mean daily rate: +5 to −3 seconds; normal-usage accuracy: +10 to −1 seconds per day |
| Bracelet/clasp details | Three-piece solid-link Oyster bracelet, Oysterclasp and 5 mm Easylink comfort extension | Folding clasp with push-button release |
| Price reference | $6,750 USD displayed on Rolex’s US product page when checked in 2026 | A comparable US price was not established; the cited official product page is Singapore-English |
These are manufacturer specifications, not independent comparative test results. Rolex’s product information is for its US page; Grand Seiko’s SBGW299 information is from its Singapore-English page. Rolex Oyster Perpetual 36 product page; Grand Seiko SBGW299 product page.
Which winding routine do you prefer?
Rolex: automatic winding
The Oyster Perpetual 36 uses automatic calibre 3230, which winds through its Perpetual rotor as the watch is worn. That suits someone who would rather not make hand winding part of the regular routine. Its stated power reserve is approximately 70 hours.
Grand Seiko: manual winding
The SBGW299 uses hand-wound calibre 9S64 and has an approximately 72-hour power reserve. You will need to wind it by hand as needed; for some buyers, that involvement is part of the appeal rather than a drawback. Its 44GS styling is a distinct design choice, not a movement advantage or disadvantage.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Imported
- Pre-Loved Condition: Very Good; Minor scratches and wear on case and band.
- Case Size/Width: 36mm, Watch Height: 12mm, Band Width: 20mm, Wrist circumference: 7.0"
- Band material: Stainless steel with 18k yellow gold.
- Case material: Stainless Steel
How do the cases compare on the wrist?
The diameter difference is only 0.5 mm: 36 mm for the Rolex and 36.5 mm for the Grand Seiko. Diameter alone cannot establish which will fit better. Grand Seiko publishes the SBGW299’s 42.7 mm lug-to-lug and 11.6 mm thickness, while the cited Rolex product page does not state those measurements. Try both on if fit is a deciding factor; the available figures do not support a definitive fit comparison.
What do the water-resistance ratings tell you?
Rolex specifies 100 m / 330 ft for the Oyster Perpetual 36, while Grand Seiko specifies 10 bar for the SBGW299. These are the manufacturers’ published ratings. They do not, by themselves, establish suitability for a particular water activity, so check the manufacturer’s guidance for your intended use.
Rank #2
- Imported
- Pre-Loved Condition: Very Good; Small mark on dial, minor scratches and light wear on case and band.
- Case Size/Width: 36mm, Watch Height: 12mm, Band Width: 19mm, Wrist circumference: 7.0"
- Band material: Stainless Steel
- Case material: Stainless Steel
How should you read the accuracy figures?
Rolex states an accuracy of −2/+2 seconds per day after casing. Grand Seiko gives two figures for the SBGW299: a controlled mean daily rate of +5 to −3 seconds, and normal-usage accuracy of +10 to −1 seconds per day. The manufacturers describe different test contexts, so the numbers should not be treated as results from a directly comparable test protocol.
What are the bracelet and design differences?
Rolex lists a three-piece solid-link Oyster bracelet with an Oysterclasp and a 5 mm Easylink comfort extension. Grand Seiko identifies the SBGW299 as a manual-wound model in its 44GS lineup and lists a folding clasp with push-button release. Those descriptions identify different design approaches; the specifications alone do not establish which bracelet will feel more comfortable or which watch has superior finishing.
Rank #3
- Imported
- Pre-Loved Condition: Very Good; Scratches and light wear on case and band, minor dings on band.
- Case Size/Width: 36mm, Watch Height: 12mm, Band Width: 20mm, Wrist circumference: 7.5"
- Band material: Stainless steel with 18k yellow gold.
- Case material: Stainless Steel
Which one should you choose?
- Choose the Oyster Perpetual 36 if automatic winding is important to you and its published 100 m water-resistance rating matches your priorities. Rolex displayed a price of $6,750 USD on its US product page when checked in 2026; that is a market-specific displayed price, not a guaranteed transaction price.
- Choose the SBGW299 if you specifically want a hand-wound watch and prefer its 44GS design. Its published case measurements provide diameter, lug-to-lug and thickness figures to consider when assessing fit.
For a purchase, confirm the current local price, exact configuration and availability for both references. Rolex says that only official Rolex retailers are allowed to sell and maintain its watches; use its official retailer information to find a sales channel. The available product information does not establish a comparable US SBGW299 price.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




